Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blair

Over booked no notification no room no help

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Cons: Reservations and desk staff
Two week old confirmed reservation. Arrived an hour before check in to be told no room along with six other rooms that were over booked. Desk staff offered no help had not tried to contact us beforehand to let us know. No bathroom in lobby area to change for wedding but were told there was a gas station across the street we could use, No offer to help find room elsewhere. Left wedding reception early to drive the hour and a half home. Very poor service from desk staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Not what I expected!

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Maintenance and complimentary breakfast!
Although the staff was pleasant, I had to call them to the front desk by dialing a number on the phone left on the counter. They responded immediately and were very pleasant. The building was cold and dark. My room was also very cold. The building is showing its age, and the shower-tub was badly stained. The bed sheets were thread bare and close to having holes in them. The breakfast was very limited and the waffles were in a tub that had freezer frost on the sides. It was evident that location is a problem in maintaining adequate revenue from customers, only adding to the maintenance challenges. Again, staff was very pleasant!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Murray

Comfortable & friendly

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Disappointing that pool is closed. Breakfast fair -- has gone downhill from past years. Room clean, staff friendly & helpful. Room comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton WI

Quiet hotel off the main road

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Clean room pleasant stafff, very pleasant lobby/sitting area, nice continental breakfast.
Cons: Pool was closed.
Location: A few miles off the main road.
The hotel is a few miles off the main highway, but worth the side trip. Nice lobby, rooms are good sized and clean. Carpet a bit worn, but not shabby looking. I was disappointed that the description on the Expedia page said there is a pool and hot tub, but they were closed. All on all a good value for the money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tracy, ca

Great beds!

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: I loved the bed and the staff
Cons: The old shower and carpet etc. Some things need renovations badly and because of it somethings make you feel like the cleanliness wasn't to good.
Location: Hotel is set in a great danish town full of danish history
Hotel staff are awesome! This hotel is the most quite I have ever experienced. The beds are so comfortable I wanted to lay in it for ever. They also offer plenty of pillows that still have some fluff to them. When my husband and I checked in we were upgraded to their large suite. A lot of things were very wonderful about this place. It has great charm but it maybe hard to notice since the place is in great need of renovations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed at this hotel 4 years ago when it was Americinn. At one time it was nice, but it has changed hands and NOTHING is good. I booked a King size bedroom through Hotels.com and when we arrived the man at the desk said all the Kings were reserved. This was late at night and it was apparent no one was there - only two cars in the parking lot! He told us a group was coming in past midnight and all Kings were reserved for them. No one ever arrived. We took the queen. The room was filthy, especially the bathroom tub/shower. We asked for another room which was worse. We ended up asking for cleaning supplies and CLEANED OUR OUR OWN TUB/SHOWER! The free wi-fi did not work. The carpet was filthy and we wondered if one of the queen beds even had clean sheets. We slept in the other. The service was horrible. The man at the desk apparently lives there. It is a one man show. He is lazy and hardly lifts a finger to help. He answers the phones, takes the reservations, supposedly cleans all the rooms and furnishes the breakfast. But he obviously doesn't clean and breakfast was barely there. The coffee was light brown water! The outside of the hotel is weathered, the swimming pool is closed for repairs; yet it is apparent there are no funds for this. It is disappointing, because this could be a wonderful place for people to stay to visit the Museum of Danish America which is wonderful!. You are better off staying up the road. Do not stay here. It is a ghost town hotel.
2 out of 5
by Robert M.

Pool is broken

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
We had quick stay in this rural hotel. Average room. Basic continental breakfast. It would have been better if pool wasn't closed. We chose hotel because of pool option. My girls were disappointed. Hotel.com needs to update their ad. The manager said pool has been closed for past 6 months.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a very relaxing experience

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Comfortable, noise free, access to the Interstate, staff were friendly and accommondating.
Cons: Not really
Location: Tivoli is not a place where there many things to do. I choose it because I had stayed there before and it was close to a town that I had grown up in.
I had heard about previous poor ratings, however, I found Tivoli a great place to stay. It is unfortunate that comments could not be included in the poor reviews as whatever was wrong was either fixed or the review was over done.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lees Summit

Pool closed

Posted Aug 4, 2016
We picked this hotel because it had a pool and we were traveling with 3 kids. The pool looked like it had been closed for over a month. The breakfast bar included only toast, bagels, frozen waffles and cereal. Very disappointing.