Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Akron, Oh

Great hotel & great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and clean room with comfortable bed
Location: Close to the heart of Elkins. Plenty within walking distance. One hour from Cass Scenic Railway, Robert C. Byrd radio telescope, and Snowshoe
Nice clean and quiet place near downtown Elkins. 1863 is a great place for dinner and it is right next to the hotel. Plenty of other places to dine within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Coming into town on short notice due to a death in the family, I attempted to reserve a room with 2 beds for my sister and I at my usual in-town hotel. Finding it was booked solid, I got a little nervous. However, after reading the guests reviews, I ended up booking two nights at the Isaac Jackson Hotel. Having never stayed there before, I didn't know what to expect but my sister and I were both pleasantly surprised by the friendly and professional staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. Our room was very clean with comfortable beds and a great view. We enjoyed our delicious complimentary breakfast on the patio with a breathtaking view of the city below with a backdrop of distant mountains. Needless to say, we have found our new go-to hotel in Elkins!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC VA MD

New hotel near downtown Elkins

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: A new property in very good condition (of course!) with nice staff and a good location overall.
Cons: The entrance to the hotel is VERY easy to miss unless you're paying CLOSE attention. There's only one driveway and it's shared with 1873 Restaurant.
Location: An easy walk to historic downtown and D&E College. Mountain Rail WV close at hand. Dinner at Vintage Restaurant (downtown) and Forks Inn nearby!
Nice location -- very walkable to historic downtown area. We used it as a base for hiking excursions in Canaan Valley and Monongahela National Forest -- easy access and very convenient for that, and a nice place to come back to after a long day's hike! Dog-friendly, which was a must for us, and the add-on fee wasn't too high. Dogs segregated to a back area of hotel with a separate entrance for walks and such. Breakfast buffet a notch above the usual with a nice mix of options on the weekends. The weekday buffet left something to be desired, but still better than average. Outdoor terrace was a nice place to enjoy it on a lovely day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hanover, PA

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Clean comfortable and quiet
Cons: If possible would add a pool.
Location: Convenient to Davis and Elkins College. Perfect for taking train excursions.
Very nice, new hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful. If we have the opportunity to visit Elkins again, will stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Elkins!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The breakfast bar was delicious with a variety of food. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable about area and activities.
Cons: Would not change anything! Wonderful stay! Highly recommend.
Location: The hotel was close to Davis & Elkins college campus which is worth a trip to see a beautiful historic home that once belonged to Henry Gassaway Davis
Beautiful hotel! Very clean and modern. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Handed us printed directions to a show we were seeing in town!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted May 13, 2017
We stayed at this hotel during a quick trip to WV. The staff were friendly, breakfast was nice, and all around a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by kellyg, Hotel Management
Thank you! Hope that your travels bring you back to us in the future!
5 out of 5
by Barbara

great

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was beautiful, and very clean. Our room was just as amazing, the bed was so comfortable. My back never felt better. The staff was great to work with. I would stay there again and would recommend others to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tastefully furnished, spacious, comfortable.

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Great beds, friendly staff. Ate at the 1863 restaurant evening and Sunday brunch, would have liked to have some selections not so heavy. Would certainly consider staying there again when in the area.
5 out of 5
by Tricia

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in beautiful location. Spent 2 night there for a couple of college lacrosse games and recommended it to all the families that stayed elsewhere. Absolutely great hotel.
5 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
very clean rooms. Friendly staff. Good breakfast