Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Close to UD

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Clean
Location: Easy 15 minute drive to University of Delaware
This modest roadside inn is a good alternative to over priced chain hotels in Newark. The owner is onsite and has pride in his property - it is clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
The Sutton Inn is very basic in terms of comfort and amenities. I have stayed in many other places that were in the same price range but had much more to offer! If you just need a place to sleep and don't care about the amenities, it is fine. I must say, however, that it was very quiet and the gentleman at the front desk was very cordial and helpful. Was quite surprised that there was no record of my reservation that was made through Hotels.com. Fortunately, there was a room still available.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was Eeh, OK.

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Felt it was a little over priced for the size and condition. Coming from out of town it's hard to determine what you are going to run into. It's unfortunate because if it wasn't for the over pricing, I'd say this is an ok place to stay. The owner was kind, and we were the only people in the place- so there wasn't much of a "breakfast" as stated in description.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Don't, just don't.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
For the money, you could have a room at the embassy suites five miles away. The bedspread was stained, the sofa was DIRTY and about 70 years old. The bathroom was old, tiny and gross. I'm surprised Expedia even offers this hotel. I used points to buy down the rate and I want them BACK!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, Massachusets

Reunion

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Centrally located between family homes, surrounded by numerous restaurants and shopping this was ideal for us to be able to visit and relax in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Visiting Family

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Cons: In room coffee pot.
Convenient for our travels. Motel is newly remodeled, bright and clean. Staff is exceptionally friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value, clean rooms

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: The price!
Cons: Hair dryers in the rooms.
Location: We were going to a dressage clinic in Chesapeake City, about 15 minutes away, so we can't talk about what else there was to do.
Stayed for two nights. Was pleasantly surprised about the exterior appearance, the well maintained grounds and the friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was okay
The room was cramped and the shower was tiny. No where to put any personal items
2 out of 5
by Jacqie from St. Inigoes

Not Happy

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Not liked pictured on site. Bed was hard and pillows soft. Bedspreads old and dirty looking. Very small bathroom, shower was so tiny it was hard getting a shower. No hair dryer or clock. Small bedroom, hit my knee on bed foot board several times. Breakfast was pastries, bagel and coffee. Will not stay there again. Not worth what I paid.......
5 out of 5
by Danielle

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
Rooms have recently been redone in the last few years. Very welcoming when we arrived.The rooms were clean and the area quiet.