Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Passing thru

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Great price
Cons: carpet cleaned and early breakfast.
Location: I haven't a clue.
Everything was fine except I felt cheated on the breakfast. I had to leave by 5 am and breakfast isn't until 7 am.They couldn't put something out for early risers?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonds, WA

Easy & accommodating

Posted Jan 11, 2017
We needed somewhere to stay last minute while passing through ellensburg late at night. First we called the hotel to book, and the staff member recommended doing it through expedia for about $11 cheaper. We did so, and had no complications. However, when booking online we couldn't choose the option for a pet fee. This wasn't an issue, though. When checking in we just paid an addition $15 for the pet fee. The room was clean and well put together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location, great price

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Nice room at a great rate.
The room was clean, staff was very friendly and the facility was excellent. No Complaints!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Barry, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for the great review!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Seedy and not very secure.

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Desk attendant was friendly.
Cons: SECURITY
Lock to the exterior hall entry door was missing to anyone could come in at night. Room door frame was damaged from someone previously gaining entry by force. Motel located behind truck stop. Seeding looking people and derelict vehicles in parking lot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Barry, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, We are apologize for the less than excellent stay you experienced. Our exterior hall entrance has the lock inside the wall, which unlocks the mechanism to be opened with hotel guest keys. It can seem that there is no lock at times. But i assure you the lock is not waterproof it is tucked a bit into the wall. We hope to see you again so we can display to you our excellent security!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
They charged a dropout to our card after we paid for a hotel on expedia when got there with out notifying us, told us it would be back on in 24 hrs then 5 days later said it could take up to a month. We didn't mind posting a deposit it was the lack of communication and knowledge by staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Barry, Hotel Management
Hello Shawnie, We would like to apologize that you were not told about our authorizatoin on your card for incidentals. We place a hold on all credit cards as per our policy, which normally takes 3-5 business days to be released. We fell short on this and I apologize for this on the behalf of our front desk team. We hope to see you soon in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Nice hotel. Friendly Staff. Room was cozy. Hot tub was not warm but otherwise it was really nice. Great breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by barry, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for the 5 stars, we strive for a great stay for all our guests. As for the hot tub, please accept my apologies if the water was not hot enought, it is normally between 101-103F. Safe travels, and see you soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Will do in a pinch, don't set high expectations.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Inexpensive. Pet Friendly. Easy access to interstate and several good restaurants within a mile.
Cons: Maintenance. Replace the burned out (and not burned out) harsh fluorescent bulbs. More and better towels in multi-bed rooms.
Location: Rodeo (Labor Day weekend). CWU. Yakima River canyon (fishing, floating, great motorcycle road). Otherwise you are probably just passing through.
If all you need is a bed and a shower for the night, this place works just fine. Super friendly staff and the room was nice and clean, although most of the harsh curly-q fluorescent lamps were burned out (4/5 in the vanity, 1 lamp, one overhead)the super-firm mattresses were bowing in the middle, (get closer with your partner) and for a two-queen room we would think more than three medium towels and washcloths and two dixie-cups would be provided. Pet-friendly, I took my pal for a 6:00am walk around the grounds, which are situated between a truck-stop and a farm, about 100m from the interstate. Walking by the "breakfast room," through the window I could see the dirty ladle from yesterday's sausage gravy on the counter, so we had a nicer breakfast at the Flying-J instead (wife had the B&G there). If you are passing through and just need an inexpensive clean room with no frills on your travels, this place is just fine. But if you are looking on Expedia, chances are you are planning for something more. If your expectations are higher and your budget allows, keep looking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by barry, Hotel Management
Hello Nearly Native, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Let me first apologize for the multiple issues you encountered during your stay with us. We certainly fell short of not only your expectations, but our own as well. I have shared your feedback throughout our Operations Team to ensure that the items you discussed are addressed immediately, as these issues are unacceptable. Warmest Regards!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington (state)

2.5 stars, passable

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The room was spacious and the bed was acceptable. If that's all you care about it is a good bargain
Cons: Better TV channels, improve the internet mostly revamp breakfast; add some yogurt, hard boiled eggs, maybe sausage. Really clean the floors. YUCK.
Stayed 3 night (Thursday - Sunday) to visit some local family. The pictures on the site are misleading and didn't really portray the room we got. ~Pros *Check in was fairly smooth, the young man who checked me in was very nice and the other staff we interacted with were nice enough. *Comfortable enough bed *Room didn't smell particularly bad, just the normal "old hotel" smell *Room was spacious. *Fridge and Microwave came standard *Didn't have bedbugs *Superficially clean ~Cons *TV channels were pitiful. Literally 12 channels that worked and 5 of them were sports. *Internet was a pain to get logged into and was spotty and intermittent. *No temp controls on the heater/AC, you could turn on the fan, "high cool", "low cool", "high heat", and "low heat" but the knob for temp control had been pried off. *Exposed fixtures in the bathroom and lots of loud rattling noises from the bathroom fan and pipes when other rooms used their shower But the two things that I found the most disappointing... *Pitiful breakfast. Very few options, nasty canned gravy that had been watered down and salted, almost no milk, NO protein options at all. Went the first morning and had half a waffle and tossed the rest because it was gross and went out after that. Didn't even merit the name "Continental Breakfast" *Floor desperately needs a deep clean. Spilled some water and when I soaked it up with a towel the towel came back filthy. Seriously disgusting.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Stevens, Wa

Dark, Dengee, Dirty and Uncomfortable

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Lightning in area very poor, furniture/bed/mattress old worn, breakfast area small and dirty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pasco wa

Unhelpful

Posted Dec 5, 2016
We arrived around 7 and the staff informed us after check in was comapleted they had no room keys left. This was a major inconvenience to us. The staff was unsympathetic to the problem. Never staying here again.