Ratings based on 127 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Country side nice hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Quirky hotel with antique furniture
Cons: Porch area try to keep clean
Location: Designer outlet for shopping and plenty of restaurants in complex
Pleasant stay . Friendly staff and helpful . Tea and coffee making facilities in room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Very pleasant nice food nice large well equipped room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york

Great value for money

Posted Jan 9, 2018
Pros: Large rooms
Cons: Decor refreshed and carpets replaced.
Location: Good locations for Chester and Liverpool . 2 good Indian restaurants in the village 2 minutes away.
Lovely hotel with nice outdoor areas. Rooms very spacious with big bathrooms. Reception staff very friendly and professional. Some of the communal areas were in need of a refurb but this seems to be in hand.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Overnight stay prior to a day of sightseeing around Chester. Found the hotel without any difficulty, and had no problems finding a space in the free car park. Friendly and professional welcome at reception. Got a little bit lost finding our room on the first attempt. The hotel interior is quite old-fashioned, and rather 'interesting' decor throughout. Room was spacious, and had a gigantic(!) TV on the wall. Not the highest quality room we've ever stayed in, but equally have stayed in places a lot worse. We didn't eat at the hotel as it was a bit pricy, so drove half a mile or so to the White Lion pub in Childer Thornton, which served excellent food at good prices. All in all, we had a pleasant stay, and it was much better value than staying in Liverpool or Chester on a Saturday night.
5 out of 5
by Michael

A hidden gem

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
A lovely hotel. Helen could not be more helpful. Our suite was to die for, very clean, luxurious and spacious. This hotel is a gem of a find and we would recomend it willingly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Enjoyed our stay . Comfy bed, lots of nice furniture. With the proposed alterations it should look really nice. Kensington, and Buckingham rooms finished to a good standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Faded Glory

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: The staff were wonderful, very helpful. The grounds are lovely. The shower in our room was brilliant.
Cons: Everywhere looks like it needs redecoration. The room contents should be checked, we were short of a kettle and bedside lamp.
Location: This hotel is very near the historic city of Chester, Manchester, Liverpool and just over the border to Wales. A huge number of things to do locally.
There is an awful lot wrong with this hotel but there is a lot to recommend it too. I understand that it is going through refurbishment but it appears that this is taking a long time and not very well organised. It would also appear there are staffing problems. On the plus side, the staff are very helpful, friendly and professional. A special mention and thank you to the Night Porter, I think his name is John, who is helping out by running the bar and restaurant. We booked through eBookers paying about the same as a Premier Inn. You know exactly what you are going to get with the PI but I would rather stay at the Brook Meadow with all it's niggles at the same price level.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 30, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Louise

Thumbs up

Posted Sep 26, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing hotel staff and location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but needs to have refurbishment completed.

Posted Sep 13, 2017 on Hotels
Whilst the staff and service were good, the decoration and fittings needed good deal of further attention. Leaving electric sockets in public areas hanging out of the wall boxes, showing wires, did not leave a good impression. All floor coverings in public areas needed replacing and/or fitting properly. Much wall and wood paintwork needed doing or revisited. I could hear a constant high pitched tone as if a smoke alarm needed maintenance, (the alarm was not sounding). With ear plugs, I was able to sleep. Having mentioned it to reception it seemed no one was able to remedy the problem. Continental breakfast was provided comprising of cereal multipacks, museli, toast, scones, fruit juice and sliced melon. On 2 of the 3 mornings we stayed, there were croissants and yoghurt. A cooked breakfast is available but we did not try that. A car is needed although the walk to Hooton station is only 15 minutes and ok if weather is OK and not too much traffic. There was simple parking.