Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cracks in walls, smells of smoke, friendly staff

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Decore tired, cracks in walls, cobwebs, bedroom not clean. Lots of no smoking signs but smells of smoke. Ran out of drinks in bar! But Friendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2018
There was black mould on the wall round the window and the room was really cold. We asked for room service when we arrived and the receptionist seemed really put out - it appeared to be just too much effort for her to take our order - very disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced for a very poor experience

Posted Feb 3, 2018 on Hotels
The hotel is in need of an overhaul. Very over price for what you get. Room had tread bare carpets, old furniture, noisy and my door did not have an internal lock. Corridors smelt of old cigarette smoke and must. Also had to carry luggage up stairs and not offered any help, even with a lift most room s you still have additional stairs to go up. Service very poor, check in not enough information given. Service at the bar most evenings no one around and had to go to reception to ask for service. Food average and not worth the money, long wait most evenings for the food to be served. Room was always cleaned everyday but tea tray was not always replenished. The pool was warm and okay but ladies changing rooms was like something out of the sixties, old and cold. Overall I won’t be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ellesmere port

Nice staff and lovley rooms

Posted Jan 28, 2018
Had a lively time went for my parents birthday only stayed for one night but would go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ireland

Room good .every thing else bad

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Told at check in .we had to eat dinner before 7:30 ,the restaurant was going to be busy with Christmas parties Went at 6,45 Menu was rubbish;, chippy food , Staff that don't speak English and then spilled my wife's fish fingers on the table when serving and just shrugged shoulders and left it there .. Got really busy at 7,30 9 people for party ! Worst hotel ever lazy people
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad stay in Woodhey

Posted Dec 12, 2017 on Hotels
Basic, business "motel", unloved and unlooked after. No food after 9.00pm. Poor breakfast choice/buffet with one restaurant staff member taking orders for tea and coffee, when she could remember to peep out from behind kitchen door. Very disappointing, I shall not be back.
1 out of 5
by Ruth

Disappointing

Posted Dec 11, 2017 on Hotels
I booked a superior room for my husbands birthday. Check in was at 2pm but the room wasn’t ready and then we got given a standard room. I was very disappointed and requested they check my booking. We eventually got our superior room but I felt stressed and I had no apology. Not impressed by the service at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wolverhampton

Room was to a good standard bathroom was not

Posted Dec 10, 2017
The main room was at a good standard of cleanliness (apart from the kettle which was disgusting), and tasteful decorated. The walls are as thin as paper and you could hear everything your neighbours were saying without straining. The bathroom was disgraceful, the paint was peeling off of the ceiling and it could have done with the plaster reskimming, the shower never got warm so your only option was a bath, the tiles needed replacing as there were holes in them in a few places, but other than that not too bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, but much better hotels in Chester.

Posted Dec 4, 2017 on Hotels
Booked and paid extra for a superior room, the room we received wasn’t anything near superior and looked no different to the standards room, I asked for this to be changed with sadly no luck. The pool was ok, however there was no one manning it to give out the towels and the lockers didn’t lock. They also seemed to be very short of staff as firstly it took 15 minutes to get served at the bar, and the receptionists ended up serving due to her being unable to locate the bar staff and secondly even though we left our room at 10 o’clock in the morning and arrive during back at 3 our room still hadn’t been cleaned even though we put the sign outside our room. Lastly I would advise everyone going here to double check their door as they don’t appear to close properly unless you slam it, we noticed many doors not properly closed as we entered and left the hotel on many occasions and out door too wouldn’t close properly without a good slam, which I find is incredibly unsafe for the personal belongings within the hotel. The only upside of our stay in this hotel was the nicely decroated bar and reception, it however sadly didn’t span through the hotel as the rest looked very shabby and outdated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sileby

Disappointed

Posted Dec 4, 2017
No heating. Radiator thermostat broken. It was Dec 2nd so cold outside , the room was as cold. Bathroom was freezing cold - no heating in there at all. BBC channels not working on tv. We had a connecting room which didn't give us nor our neighbours any privacy as you could hear everything they said.we could not be given a different room as they were fully booked. We got a last minute room at a local Premier Inn which was faultless.