Ratings based on 109 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Great location in heart of cute Ely. Staff was very friendly. Has a retro exterior, but modern comfortable interior.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kay from Crested Butte

A nice place to rest and relax.

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
Nice clean place. The Rooms are great. Don't judge this hotel by the outside.Not that the outside is ugly..just not fancy. Affordable and a decent breakfast too!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by burgie

The dirty dump

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Once we arrived at this (hotel) it was not what was shown at all. We were shown a nice hotel and we booked it, but in reality it was a run down motel with dirty and worn carpet dark and dingy. we did not stay.. we tried to get our money back, but as of this date we have not. we booked it on hotel.com and was told it was Expedia that actually booked it. This was the worse of worse.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephen from Oakland, California

A Guarded Okay

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here because of the enthusiastic reviews posted but found the experience came up a little short. So much of what they've done to rehabilitate this older motel should be applauded. The bed was comfortable and the furnishings well thought out. The room was very quiet! I love that you can park at the door to your unit. There were ample electrical outlets though not well placed. I needed to move the table by the window to the opposite end of the room to plug in my computer. The rug was clearly clean but highly stained and worn. My biggest complaint was the compressor on the a/c was very loud. The good news was that once the room was warm -- it only ran occasionally and for a short time. My other complaint is that they really need to upgrade their WiFi system. The units furthest from the office get "poor' to "no signal" - and where it reaches it is slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Room was just fine, finding hotel an experience

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: clean room
Cons: obvious signs.
Location: downtown near casino.
Hotel for overnight was clean and comfortable. We had to phone to find the place. Lady told us it did not have a sign and then tried to direct us to the place. She finally came out and waved us down. Turns out it was a hotel that had a sign but was named differently. Simple solution, tell the customer what the sign says even if it was not the Magnuson.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ray

Hard to find

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
This Motel has changed it's name and was hard to find. Even when I called for directions they didn't inform us of the change of name. When we questioned reception no signage change were told the owner was working on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bright, IN

Good motel in Ely

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Location: The Silver State restaurant is a couple of blocks away. It was made made famous by Jeremy Clarkson of Top Gear fame (Season 12, Episode 2).
The room was well appointed. Wifi signal was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA State

older updated hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: Everything essential was there for a nice rest in the middle of the desert.
This hotel is nothing to look at on the outside but rooms have been remodeled with granite countertops, nice showers and comfortable beds. Good breakfast in the morning as well. Stayed here a second time on our way home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitehouse, tx

great

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Very good breakfast with lots of choices clean hotel room spacious everything was clean and worked
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Randall from Riverside

Hard toFind

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
I had a hard time finding the hotel. My maps from google and map quest had me going in the opposite direction on the road they were on. My confirmation, from Hotels.com had no motel phone number on it. I needed to get help from a gas station. The hotel itself was in the business section of town and was in the middle of a bunch of hotels/motels. The check in clerk stated that they have not put up their sign yet, so that made it extra difficult to find.The room was nice, though. Was able to park right next to it. Room was very large; king size bed with room for another bed, if necessary. Bathroom area was very large with outside sink area, from the bathroom. The neighborhood was so-so, but the room was very quiet.