Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
The hotel is not maintained Bad smell in the room Excellent breakfast
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More than disappointing.

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Unfriendly reception staff person. Hotel in poor condition. No lounge rooms to relax which is incredible given the size of the place. Very poor wifi. We slept very badly because of the large number of mosquitoes in the room. Judging by the old blood/mosquito splatter marks on the walls other guests have had the same problem. We are Australians and so we are used to mosquitoes but a hotel like this should have put up fly screens on the windows. We were wrecked the next day due to lack of sleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reunion with Brittany

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Chateau charming and room comfortable(bit dark in bathroom) and whole area plagued with biting insects. Breakfast very good(kettle on its last legs). One minor comment is that there was no facility to make your own drinks apart from at breakfast time. WiFi reception intermittent.
4 out of 5
by Brian from Billericay Essex

Good but need money spent

Posted Nov 14, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed the stay lovely grounds but Sunday evenings is a no no -- No heating,no restaurant, no staff. You have to like old properties and accept them for what they are. Sometimes they need a little help and that costs lots of money. We liked it but the stay was a little uncomfortable due to Sunday evening being old and nothing to eat. Ho well you live a learn Brian
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancaster UK

A few days break.

Posted Sep 22, 2015
A lovely setting although a few miles from nearest village. The chateau not only provides hotel accommodation but also a function suite for weddings. We did not eat here as the menu was quite rich and rather expensive. Breakfast was optional at €12 per person. We prefer to go out and eat in a less formal situation. The room was very nice if a little dark. Typical of French hotels no refreshments are available in your room other than room service. A small indoor pool and spa facilities at extra cost. A nice woodland walk directly from the chateau to the sea.
4 out of 5
by Alison from London

Nice hotel - needs some updating

Posted Aug 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel's in a lovely spot and the grounds and overall look of the place are very attractive. The room and the bathroom were large and well equipped and the staff friendly and helpful. There is definitely an air of faded grandeur about the place and the bedding and towels could do with updating. Everything was clean, but rather dated. We ate in the restaurant one night and thought the food was nice but not spectacular for the price. We preferred the mussel restaurant in the bay, 5 minutes drive away, which had a fab ambiance and delicious, reasonably priced food.
4 out of 5
by carlie from USA

Out of the way but worth the trip!

Posted Aug 10, 2015 on Hotels
This is a fabulous place...once you find it! A little off the beaten path and we got quite lost trying to find it, not to future travelers, the signs read "Domaine" Du Val, not Chateau. Apparently they are the same thing? Once we figured this out we had a wonderful stay. Fabulous food at the restaurant and wonderful service. Thanks Felix!
5 out of 5
by Dawn from Bath

Beautiful chateau to stay in

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely setting, helpful staff and lovely meal (although good perhaps on the pricey side)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Character and charm

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
One night stay while traveling through France. Restaurant was excellent. Breakfast was also good. Room had character but was a little cold. Setting was wooded and lovely. Staff was charming and friendly.
4 out of 5
by geekchick from canada

Romantic, beautiful, customer service needs help

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
We thoroughly enjoyed the location and the romance of staying in a historic chateau. The room was very spacious, although the furniture could use some updating. It is a good value for money. The location is quiet and there are lots of neat places to visit nearby. But their customer service needs help. We ordered a standard double room, I specifically did not want those 2 twin beds pushed together - they gave us the 2 twin beds pushed together. There is typically only one person at reception if anyone at all, so checking out was a terrible chore - took us 45 minutes when there was only one customer in front of us. I gave them my ice pack to put in the freezer and they lost it. Finally, when there is no one at reception, you are to find assistance in the dining room which is really upscale. Every time I walked in there, all eyes were on me "what could you possibly want" and the waiters gave me the same impression - hustled me out the door - understandable - people are all dressed up fancy dinner, and I am walking in from a hike, rather unkempt, but it was rather uncomfortable. Really nice people and staff in the place, but I do not think that they understand what customer service really means. Then again - it is France - perhaps one cannot expect more.