Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice setting with good pool and horse riding.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Children enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. Riding lessons were fun for all from 5 years old up. Good food but limited staff so not able to have dinner on some nights. Good size rooms with self catering facilities. Noisy neighbors with dogs unfortunately scratching the floor in the apartment above. Close to Certaldo with good restaurants, supermarket and station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Toscana

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great resturant with good service. Nice pool area with two pools. Free parking. WiFi was not fast. I hope to comeback later.
5 out of 5
by Jessica

Would come back again and again!

Posted Jul 10, 2017 on Hotels
Where do I start. It was idyllic, quaint, quiet, picturesque, food to die for and nothing was too much. It is perfect if you want to get away from it all. My partner and I went for dinner one evening and we fancied some real Italian pasta and my partners favourite is Carbonara. So even though it was off the menu, they served us exactly what we wanted. It is on a winery so every night we were up until the early hours with 4 bottles of wine, waking with no hangovers due to the lack of sulphates in their wine. What more could you ask for. I would say that there was no air conditioning but don't bother us too much and they were closed on the Monday evening for dinner (we didn't know about this until we got to the restaurant, but then you could say that was partly our fault). I JUST LOVED THIS PLACE!!
5 out of 5
by Clare from Tucson, AZ

Relaxing and comfortable!

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this place! We rented the room with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. It was huge. It is out in the country, but a 5 minute drive to the train station that takes you directly to Florence. My sister can't eat wheat and they provided very nice alternative for her for breakfast. The dinner we had was amazing. They have 41 beautiful horses and you can get a lesson. The staff was fantastic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great farm stay

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Double booked on arrival did not make for the most welcoming start to the trip. 2 v tired and hot children and lots of huffing and puffing from owner. Eventually shown to a room (which was not 2 bathroom as we booked) very nice furnishings, comfortable beds, plenty of towels, v clean. Breakfast adequate and a welcome inclusion, pools v nice. Horses looked v well cared for and restaurant looked great too (we did not use) Great farm stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brighton, UK

Fantastic location for sightseeing round Tuscany

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Cons: It would have been nice if each apartment had a 'Welcome' folder which advise about the rules of the property and local recommendations etc
Location: All within an hours drive is Pisa, Lucca, Florence, Siena, Castellina in Chianti, Monteriggioni and locally San Gimignano
My review for La Canonica is a little mixed. Location in the Tuscan hills just outside Certaldo is perfect for a centre based holiday in Tuscany as most major sights are less than an hours drive away and the grounds were beautiful including the horses. We stayed for 2 weeks (family with 2 young children) so we would sight see 1 day and relax by the pool the next (1 large pool and a shallow 1 for the little ones which was great). One thing I didn't see on any previous reviews and people should plan accordingly is that on Sundays all the locals come and literally take over the pool area so don't expect a quiet relaxing time. The best food we had on holiday was at the on-site restaurant with great personal service. The 1st week we stayed in a 2 bed/1 bath apartment, but the living space was cramped, so we changed to a 2 bed/2 bath. The beds were really comfortable. I think it's because of the horses, but the number of flies around was incredible and it was a fight between trying to keep the apartment cool and minimising the number of flies getting in. Our only major complaint about this holiday is that for 4 days the majority of the apartments were occupied by young British adults who had come out to Tuscany to celebrate someones 21st (need I say more) and so we had 4 nights of very broken sleep as the acoustics of buildings meant you could here everything. Management didn't control this. They should either have made it exclusive to them or let other potential guests aware.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Thüringen

Unterkunft schwer zu finden

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Wir konnten zur Anreise das Objekt schwer finden, da die Straße im Navi nicht existiert. Besser Restaurant suchen! Die frei laufenden Hunde im Objekt störten uns schon und auch deren Kot vor unserer Türe! Ansonsten zum entspannen ein schöner Ort! Auch die Küche sehr gut!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Nice Location! Great Pool. Good Restaurant. We enjoyed out stay very much.
4 out of 5
by Charlotte

Vingård Toscana

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
Vi havde en fin lejlighed med to soveværelser og to badeværelser, meget velegnet til en familie som os på 4. Dejlig stor swimmingpool. God køreafstand til Lucca, Senna og Firenze. Den gamle by Certaldo Alto er absolut et besøg værd, spis gerne middag deroppe. Der er ikke aircondition og i Juli er der meget varmt. Der er rigtigt mange myg både dag og aften.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fair value for mony

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Environment
Location: Visiting the smaller historical cities in Toscane
Basic facility which suited our needs. Swimming pool and surroudnings were nice.