Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas

No rooms for our reservation

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Nothing
We booked our hotel four months in advance knowing this was going to be a big weekend in Emporia with the Shrine Bowl. I tried to call the hotel a couple of days prior to the weekend, but no one ever answered the phone. Once we got to the hotel, we were told that they had our reservation, but didn't have any rooms available for us. We asked if they could help us find another room in town, and the man at the front desk just shrugged his shoulders. I finally found a hotel for three times the price of this one. We rushed to the next hotel as we were to be at an event at the college in less than an hour and still needed to change clothes. I was very disgusted that even though I had reservations along with my confirmation numbers, there was nothing that they could do to help us.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Do not stay here.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: pretty industrial area, close to I35.
This is probably the worst hotel/motel I have ever stayed in. Check in took almost 30 minutes. Although the girl was very apologetic, she was new and the last thing you want after a full days drive is for a long check in at 9 PM. That was the highlight of the stay. The motel is extremely run down. At night you can't read the room numbers on the doors, poor lighting. Although the furnishings were adequate, they were very out dated. The TV didn't work, we couldn't get any signal on it, but it did come on! The coffee maker gave a spark when we plugged it in. The AC was under-sized and it took all night for it to cool the room. The shelf in the bath room was partially pulling out of the wall. Multiple areas of tile were missing and cracked. The carpet was very path worn. Both ice machines had no ice. The chocolate we got out of the vending machine was melted, signaling a lack of proper AC. No pool or spa - there was a note that they were drained for maintenance. Excersize facilities had one machine. The continental breakfast was a joke. One waffle maker, 5 day old danish, two choices of cold cereal and a half dozen oranges. Also the room it was in was very hot - guess the AC didn't work there as well. When I initially filed my review with Expedia I received en email from the new owner (Wyndham as of May 2016) responding to my initial response. He tried to explain, but there is no excuse. It would have been nice to get some type of advanced warning, but $ is more important.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Nice hotel, however need improvement in restaurant itself.and more staff when breakfast time in restaurant
2 out of 5
by Orin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Terry from Arkansas

Never again.

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is old, and in need of repair. Bathroom had mold in the walls. There was no water pressure in the shower. There was not even enough pressure when you pull the stopper up to move the water from the Spicket to the showerhead to keep the stopper in place. It was a miserable experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad for the price.

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
I grew up in Emporia and the motel is showing its age. All i cared for was a clean room and hot water for cleaning up. It did that. I was working off site so wasn't do much there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Silence is golden.

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was comfortable with several dining options and you could run to a store whether you needed hose or motor oil. The only downside was construction or remodeling that was going on and made it difficult to rest in the morning.
1 out of 5
by Chris Chow from Dallas, Tx.

Wil never stay here again!

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
This was the worst room by far. Completely outdated, the mattress looked like it had blood stains. the room below me got comped due to bed bug bites! paint is peeling from the tiles in the bathroom, my feet would stick to the filthy carpet if I stood in one spot too long. management is extremely rude and unwilling to help anyone for anything. There were tons of complaints in the 30 minutes I stood there waiting to get checked in as the little girl behind the counter had no idea what she was doing. I have a feeling she was Dan the managers daughter and probably wasn't old enough to even be working. they should undergo a serious health and safety inspection. I will pay twice the price to stay somewhere else next year. If this turns even one person away from this place, my job is done. unfortunately, some will be forced to stay there and I feel sorry for them already. BOOK IN ADVANCE ELSEWHERE! WORTH THE MONEY NOT TO STAY HERE. DAN NEEDS TO BE FIRED AND A MANAGEMENT CHANGE IS DIRELY NEEDED OR GH Inn will not last!
2 out of 5
by Clarence

Choose another hotel for GBO

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
Guest house was great in 2015 because one could setup a basket inside and practice putting during a rain or in the evening. This year no disc were allowed inside. I choose Guest house so I could putt. I'll choose another hotel for GBO next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita, KS

Good value for the money

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Close to our destination. Price was very reasonable.
Cons: We would have appreciated a flat screen TV instead of a tube. The cable went in and out.
Location: Very close to the turnpike and restaurants
This hotel was close to our destination. However, it was close to the highway and the traffic noise continued past midnight. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.