Ratings based on 124 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York State

Close to beach, roads, shopping. No view of beach

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: The lighting was inadequate.
We found the location excellent: close to beach, roads, shopping, downtown Encinitas. Our room had no view of the ocean. The breakfast provided was certainly adequate; the pool area lovely and there was plenty of parking available. The room did not have a dresser with drawers to lay out clothes and the towels provided were only two of each size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good location

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Close to beach and shops, easy freeway access. Free breakfast was pretty nice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Great location, view, comfortable and good breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

You get what you pay

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Even if the hotel is close to the beach, you still have noises from highway and train. The room is outdated and the breakfast is nothing special
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Availability, price, location to beach walks and the new food market.....an improvement over others,and in walking distance.
Cons: All was well when we had a microwave ......
Location: Main attraction is a beautiful sunset over the ocean, and walks along the beach
This was a warm retreat for the three of us to have a quiet weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Lovely setting close to amenities and beach. Beautiful ocean views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The stay was very pleasant.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
The door key got deactivated twice and that was a bit unpleasant, but the staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Z

Nice Hotel and clise to beach

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Reasonable price, clean and spacious room, very comfy bed, large balconey, hotel kept clean and maintained. Nice pool and hot tub. Big breakfast area with 2 TVs. Super staff. Plenty of parking. They have quiet hours! I love love that! Real sleep! In a beach environment. Who knew! Beside for business, will come again just for weekend get aways!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, Canada

Close to beach and I5.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
We were very happy with this hotel. The location was perfect for us since we were planning on spending some time at the beach and we were also planning excursions to both Carlsbad (Legoland) and to La Jolla and downtown San Diego. It seems to be that the best way to enter this hotel parking lot is actually from the Denny's entrance next door since you cannot turn at the hotel when coming down Encinitas blvd from I5 (there is a no left turn sign). The hotel is up on a hill with a crazy slope but by being on a hill, I suspect all hotel rooms have a good view. Check in was easy. We ended up adding an extra night at the last minute through a second booking and when we arrived, they knew we had two bookings and were able to make sure we were in the same room for our full stay. Our room (2 queen beds and sofa bed) was quite large. The room seemed clean. The hotel has a policy that you need to have your room cleaned daily, which I did not know about and do not like (since the safe was not big enough for my photography equipment and I'd rather not show off the $$$ of equipment that might stay in the room while we are out) but it all worked out fine in the end. We did find a pair of dirty socks under the sofa bed on day 3 and then a t-shirt that did not belong to us on day 4. So even though the room seemed clean, obviously the staff were not checking under the sofa bed really well. Breakfast was superb. The people staffing it did an excellent job. Pool area was kept clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Encinitas

Great hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Very nice hotel, great location,very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast is very good but not consistent