Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Motorcycle parking

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Friendly staff let us park right out front. Good restaurant and bar right in the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We aim to please, and are glad we could accommodate you and your bikes. The restaurant does serve excellent food. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville, BC

Close to everything.

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: See above.
Location: Enderby is a small town, very walkable. Several interesting murals. Interesting shops, museum.
Older hotel, exterior and gardens need attention. Good restaurant, friendly staff. Room was clean and comfortable. Late check out was given without charge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I am glad you enjoyed your stay at the Howard Johnson and in Enderby. We look forward to seeing you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean & friendly

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The place is older but clean and the night desk staff very knowledgeable and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 8, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
I totally agree with you that our place is old, needs some TLC, but is clean. I am glad the front desk staff could assist you with any questions. We look forward to seeing you again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy stopping off place for long trip

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff was friendly
Cons: First room was dirty and smelled of cigarettes but staff moved us to a nicer, cleaner room.
We stopped here on our way from Victoria to Edmonton so just used the room as a place to rest on a long drive.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you came and talk to the front desk about the first room, and that we were able to move you to another room. We hope to see you again in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Staff
Cons: Updating
Location: Close to campground so it was great for a family reunion when not everyone has a camper or trailer :-)
Walking distance to town and to a riverside campground.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Yes the Howard Johnson is close to the campground for those family reunions, and within walking distance. We hope to see you on your next family reunion.
5 out of 5
by Leslie

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Driving back home to Winnipeg and stopped to visit family in Enderby.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Donna, Hotel Management
We are glad you could stop and visit with family before heading back to Winnipeg. Keep us in mind for the next visit. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money you might save. Dirty/unsafe

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
I had stayed at the HOJO in enderby once before. I knew it was a bit run down but it seemed safe enough. I knew it was a "lower end" hotel. This time around it bypassed lower end into "dump hotel". The building is rundown, falling apart and dirty. There is no safe place to park. There apparently are camera's out in the parking lot that is detached from the hotel. A drunk woman just about drowned in the pool. There appears to be full time residents at the hotel that come and go all night. The rooms have been reno'd but the air conditioning is so loud you have to turn it off at night and then you cook. The only thing going for it was the ladies that work there. They are sweethearts. My wifi did not work. The front desk lady moved me to another room immediately with no issue. The waitresses in the attached bar were also sweet. I won't stay here again unfortunately. I might eat at the pub though ;)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay here. We are in the process of slowly upgrading the hotel. As for the long term residents, they are not long term just workers staying here Monday thru Friday. The drunk woman that almost drowned in the pool this is the first I've heard of it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary Alberta

Disappoined again.

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: better Pest control
Location: Nothing specific.
For the second time I used Expedia to book a room in British Columbia, I should have learned from my first experience that this would not end well. In the first case they got the wrong dates for my reservation and I ended up paying for the room twice, since expedia refused to refund my prepayment even after the hotel advised them that the they would waive payment for the booking error! This time, after I checked in and went to the room, I was bitten by a Bedbug before I even got unpacked. I went to the hotel front desk to check out and told them about it, but they said they could not give me a refund and I should contact Expedia. Good luck with that! To sum up, I would not recommend this particular hotel or Expedia as you will have absolutely no recourse should you need to get a refund.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. First of all when booking thru Expedia you yourself enter the dates of arrival and departure, not Expedia. So the error was on your part. Two we do not have bedbugs as we have a monitoring system for these horrible bugs. What you probably got was the no-see-ums! Plus you would not get bitten by a bed bug as soon as you walked into the room. As you enter the rooms from the outside we cannot control the bugs that enter when the door is open.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK just to stay the night

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Room smelled like insect poison. Location was OK but rooms need to be updated.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We apologise for the odor in your room. All I can say is maybe housekeeping used to much cleaning solution in the room. I will bring this to their attention. Thank you for your review
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lloydminster, ab

Quick overnight stay; quiet

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Nothing fancy but comfy and quiet.restaurant was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2016 by Front Desk Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Yes I agree the rooms are nothing fancy, but they are clean and comfy.