Ratings based on 337 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Vancouver, B.C. Canada

A desert experience

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Very peaceful.
Location: There isn't much to do nearby. Jeep and camel trip in the desert can be arranged.
Our stay was short but good. The hotel, an Arabian Fort experience, is lovely but expensive. It is in the desert about an hour away from Dubai, but does not have big rolling dunes unfortunately. A good experience though of desert life.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Reuben Mifsud, Hotel Management
Dear Maureen, I appreciate you taking the time to provide me with such feedback of your stay with us. I am very happy to note that you are pleased with the peaceful ambience of the resort and with your experience with desert life. I personally took note of the various other comments you mentioned which regretfully did not meet your expectations during your stay. Rest assured, your concerns have been noted and passed on to the relevant teams for necessary actions. I look forward for an opportunity to welcoming you back to enjoy Bab Al Shams hospitality. Kind regards, Reuben Mifsud Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Had an enjoyable stay very quiet n comfy Good for couples
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by Reuben Mifsud, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us again. We appreciate your in sharing your wonderful review. We hope to be a part of your future trips to Dubai. I very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to remain a Bab Al Shams fan. Kind regards, Reuben Mifsud Cluster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Quite hotel in the middle of nowhere

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Nice and very quiet. Its very different. In the middle of the desert. Nothing around the resort. The closest civilized area is about 45 minutes drive from the resort. Very helpful staff. Despite the busy season (new year) I was served spontaneously. Very beautiful dining in restaurants. Specially Alhatheera, an arabic style restaurant with beautiful show that lasts 4 hours. Overall its a place good for complete relaxation a way from the busy area. In the day time we enjoyed the swimming pools and watching the sunset. At night we enjoyed the fireworks and the musical dinner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Reuben Mifsud, Hotel Management
Dear Tala, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased to read that our staff made your stay pleasant. Please do check out our Facebook and Twitter pages for promos that you might be interested in. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, Reuben Mifsud Cluster General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stunning architecture, fantastic service

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
The facilities are absolutely stunning, it took us a day just to take pictures of the beautiful Arabian architecture! Recommended to reach the hotel by car/jeep, as you will see more of the desert on the way. Breakfast was amazing with six choices of very rare Arabian honeys, and organic products. Absolutely recommended.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 11, 2016 on Hotels
Very exotic and charming resort. Great service all around.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
What a beautiful resort ! Friendly staff and amazing scenery!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 star prices but not near that standard

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Sad to say the food was awful and very expensive, service and staff were very pleasant, main pool has lots of steps and walls in it so you keep stubbing your toes and suddenly taking a step into the depths. Room was fine but bed and bedding pretty poor. 5 star prices but defiantly not 5 star standard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Bonnie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice treat

Posted Jun 4, 2016
This hotel is a nice treat for a night or 2. I wouldn't spend any longer here. The location is easily accessible to Dubai therefore the rolling sandunes aren't quite accurate as in the pictures! Although it is lovely and peaceful and the service very good.