Ratings based on 2,178 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Easy access.... lots of restaurants and other resources around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

one night

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: just the bed
Cons: a lot
it is a good business hotel there are no stores around this hotel it is located next to the highway very bad thing they charge for wifi usage in this day and age shame on these hotels that do I will never stay there or any Omni hotel again the days for charging for this service have gone long time ago
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
My overall experience with the hotel was okay hotel nice but when I got into my room when I seen dirty sheets and a dirty comforter and the carpet was filthy I had a problem with that I call the front desk they did send someone down to come and change my sheets and my comforter but I wasn't that comfortable because if I walk into a room and have dirty sheets in a hotel I don't feel that comfortable with that hotel cuz that means that something overall is not being checked that they had dirty sheets. Also the water to take a bath was not hot at all and I seen hair in the bathtub with your always bring my own cleaner to clean up anyways but there was hair in the bathtub. They do not provide machines that consists of beverages they have a wet bar in the room but some people don't want to pay those kind of prices for just a Coke so there was no machines that allows you to have any other concessions besides the ones that they provide which was a $4 soda when I did call down and ask them about it they did send me up a complementary Coke so I was pleased with that but they need concessions in their hotel also
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from schertx, tx

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Hotel under construction, only partial bar and restaurant
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by OmniWestMgr, Hotel Management
Hi SW, Thanks for getting in touch about your stay. We are happy to let you know that our Cafe on the Lake is currently open. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice, clean, smaller size hotel,

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Cons: Smaller size hotel, not too crowded, not noisy, attentive staff.
Location: This is right at the Energy Corridor, so very convenient to many oil & gas related businesses.
This is a smaller size hotel, which is one of its qualities, not too crowded, not noisy, attentive staff. They had some remodeling going-on with the inside water fountain but you would almost not notice it as construction went on without disturbing the guests. They gave me a complimentary breakfast for the "inconvenience". That was an unexpected nice touch. I will be back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by OmniWestMgr, Hotel Management
Hi John, Thanks so much for getting in touch about your stay. We appreciate your patience while we recover and are happy to announce that our water feature is now functioning and Cafe on the Lake is open. We hope to welcome you back soon to experience our hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

Decent hotel

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I expected a hotel that looked like the pictures offered. You can’t enjoy the indoor pond because it’s closed, the cafe is closed and you can smell standing hurricane water. Pipes back up in the room and take forever to drain. Bed is comfortable though. They need to update the pictures to what they looks like now during construction to not disappoint customers. WiFi is $10/day and the lobby WiFi is very slow when trying to use it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by OmniWestMgr, Hotel Management
Hi Lore, Thank you for getting in touch about your stay. We are so thankful for your patience during our renovation and we are thrilled to announce that our water feature and food and beverage operations have resumed. We hope to welcome you back soon and that you'll consider joining our complimentary Select Guest program so you can start receiving free in-room wifi. Thank you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston Westside

Construction

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The hotel is nice but the construction of the hotel was an eye sore. Overall good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by OmniWestMgr, Hotel Management
Hi LB, Thanks for getting in touch about your stay. We're thrilled to announce that our renovations of the public spaces have now completed and that Cafe on the Lake is now open. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dallas, tx

Much below the Omni standard — what’s wrong here?

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Let me preface this by saying that (as the hotel will remind you CONSTANTLY), yes, they are currently cleaning up from Hurricane Harvey. So maybe some slack there... Look, the hotel is not exactly visually pleasing — it looks like somewhere your dentist might have an office. But whatever, we stay at Omni’s for the service and the quality of the rooms. And that’s where the Harvey excuses shouldn’t be applicable. Except for the front desk and bell staff (who were lovely and helpful), we found the staff rude and remarkably unhelpful. Simple requests that we would pay for were not met or forgotten, my Omni “status” yielded absolutely no benefits (guys, how hard is it to put a bottle of water in our room?), and after a long day, we returned to fresh sheets that some particularly nasty staines on them. We would probably have been happier in a Holiday Inn Express with more spacious rooms and a reliable, if boring, business traveler hotel layout. You’re not getting any “Omni” service or value out of this property, so do not pay a premium for it over other chains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by OmniWestMgr, Hotel Management
Hi Robert, Thanks for getting in touch about your stay. We are really thankful for your patience as we recover and for your feedback. I'm very sorry you had some difficulty with the cleanliness of your room and truly hope we were able to resolve it for you quickly to ensure you had a pleasant stay. We are also thrilled to announce that our Cafe on the Lake is operational and we have resumed normal Select Guest services which were not operational while we were renovating. We hope to have to opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Recovery works still underway

Posted Nov 6, 2017
The entire 1st floor seems to be damaged by hurricane and still under recovery construction. Only Front desk and restaurant are open with limited condition. They are not supposed to reopen until full recovery.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by OmniWestMgr, Hotel Management
Thanks for getting in touch about your stay. We are sorry if you were inconvenienced during our renovation, however thrilled to announce that our water feature and Cafe on the Lake are both now operational. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Omni Westside

Posted Nov 5, 2017
I paid for my room up front when making a visit to the Omni on the 14th prior to my 28th reservation for $155 including room,taxes plis deposit. When we arrived for check in the young woman says we didn't pay and have to pay right then,when i say we already did instead of saying let me check into it to see what may happen she says NO YOU DIDN'T...YOUR WRONG. I pulled it up on my wells fargo app to confirm and she finds it on her computer st the same time. Facilities where great considering what the area had recently gone through. 3 days after checkout i have a withdraw for $102 which was the amount of the room with taxes. Thought that was them updating my the charges minus the $50 ded but i still have the 155 charge from the 14th posted on my acct. Ive called and spoke to 4 different people about my issue and it still jasnt been resolved. 2 say they can see wjat hsppen but can't help and continue to give me the run around and tell me to csll back at different times to no avail... i would like to have the $155 credited back to me since i was charged again for the room on the 31st...