Ratings based on 276 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from teignmouth

Nice hotel beside the estuary

Posted Jan 8, 2018
Pros: Clean and tidy and in an excellent location
Cons: We found the prices of bar drinks excessive and it cheaper to eat at the close by Passage house pub The standard of breakfast was lacking
A group of 15 of us had an evening reunion . The meal we arranged for was the Christmas 3 course which was very enjoyable and the manager gave us a special price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nova Scotia

Convenient

Posted Dec 16, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Softer pillows
Unable to book in even a few minutes early. Receptionist not friendly. Other staff we encountered were very pleasant.
4 out of 5
by Ben

Good, could be comfier.

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Beds in North lodge are not the comfiest Best Western has to offer. Extractor fan also one of the noisiest; ok if you’re tall and can reach the isolator but not possible for all I imagine. Still, the hotel, staff and facilities are great overall.
5 out of 5
by Pamela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Plenty of parking space and comfortable bed

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Convenient location for business in town and places close by
Perfect location for business meeting and good night's sleep
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Passable but not good

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely views of the river, plenty of parking
Cons: Smell of damp
Location: Nothing in walking distance
OK for an overnight. General smell of mustiness in Pub & Room. Not awful, but there are better.
3 out of 5
by Tracy

Ok stay, nice room but that’s it.

Posted Nov 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room was spacious but the hotel is split across 2 sites. A little inconvenient for accessing the facilities in the Main building. The hotel restaurant is limited and pricey but the pub on the site is more casual and offers traditional pub food. The pub food was just ok and the service was nothing special with a young staff who could benefit from customer service training. The chef had a bit of an attitude as well! Nothing awful but nothing special either. Breakfast was equally ok, poor waitress was rushed off her feet and nobody seemed very happy. The area is pretty tired and old - a typical Best Western offering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Nice hotel good location

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: good location
Cons: see above
Location: Ideal for visiting local beaches
Our only comment is that there wasn't enough staff on duty serving breakfast.
4 out of 5
by D L

Two day stay.

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
The price of the room was good but the price of the not included breakfast t was extortionate. We were in one of the annex's - only enough milk and sweetner for one cup of tea each. The bathroom fan sounded like a bearing had gone and stayed switched on after bathroom light switched off for an inordinate time. The annex's are not disabled friendly. The hotel was adequate but not special in any way.
4 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Comfort and a beautiful environment awaits..

Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
Good location. Enjoyed the walk to Newton Abbot along the river. Thought on waiting for our room until 3pm we could have been given a complimentary cup of tea. Breakfast menu was good but a bit dissapointed both the haddock and kipper were off yhe menu. We appreciated the receptionist asking children to stop running around and bei g noisey. They also kindly found me a hairdryer. Good place for a function. Quiet and peaceful surroundings.