Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely handy and comfortable, special attention

Posted Jun 3, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Closeness to the town 5 mins walk. Fabulous breakfasts, coffee, tea facilities in room. Quietness. Attention to detail.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to the museum, restaurants, we walked to the Babbacombe model village, shops, restaurant etc. only 15 - 20 mins walk from train station.
We had a lovely room the breakfasts were top shelf and attention to detail was amazing. Don't go here it you. Can't walk steep slopes or stairs otherwise this was a very pleasurable experience and we would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cornwall

Amazing hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
what an amazing hotel this is. Great hosts. And the best breakfast i have ever had. Yummy cakes :). Many thanks. We will be back.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Great location, good service

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was very pleasant within easy walking distance to the harbour and town. They did really well to spot a problem with the booking information sent to them by Hotel.com who had said we had booked a twin room, when we hadn't.
4 out of 5
by Phil

Comfy bed; convenient location

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Great location, only a few minutes walk to the harbour (bit of a hill). Cooked breakfast was OK (the fried bread was so greasy I couldn't eat it though). Positives: Nice welcome on arrival. Nice room, it was classed as a 'single' but the bed was more like a 3/4. Very comfy; slept great. Nice extra touches; sculptured elephant towel on the bed; little jar of sweets. Negatives: The bathroom let it down. The door didn't fit so couldn't be closed, never mind locked. It was tiny, which is fine except there was no room for a towel rail, no hooks, and no provision in the bedroom for drying your towel - the radiator was behind a chest of drawers so I couldn't even tuck it over there. No heating in the bathroom so the tiled floor was cold and getting out of the shower was cold and drying yourself with a damp towel from the previous nights shower isn't the best (good job it wasn't middle of winter). The car-park is rather challenging, luckily I was first there so had room to manoeuvre and find a spot where I could get out easily the next day if the car park was full; however I was worried my car would get hit by someone else due to the narrow, steep and winding nature of the drive/car-park. If I visited again I'd probably find free on-street parking instead.
5 out of 5
by Danny

Posted Mar 11, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service. Lovely breakfast home cooked. 3 mins walk to harbour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from somerset

Excellent value for money great location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: lovely listed building in great location
Cons: nothing for us .great
Location: just off seafront,quite location,close to town centre
second stay, even better than the first.nothing to much trouble,fantastic breakfast well cooked and massive selection. lovely listed building. come and see and try yourself you will not be disappointed.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Hotels
lovely clean friendly hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
We walked all the way to Cockington and it was well worth it, thatch cottages and cream tea while listening to a piano in a super garden out in the sunshine
4 out of 5
by Kelly from London

Lovely view!!

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Wil visit again, great stay!