Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Lovely character filled property

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay the only issue was that the room did not have an exterior window so fresh air was minimal though it did have air conditioning. Staff were excellent friendly and helpful in every way. Hotel has a great location
5 out of 5
by Steve

Lovely hotel, excellent service, great location

Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 5 days in September. Love this hotel. It's quaint, in a great location and has two nice bars and a restaurant. Food is really nice staff are friendly and efficient. You need to be mobile if you are staying on higher floors. Dog friendly.Will return and would definitely recommend
5 out of 5
by Shane

Posted Aug 19, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice hotel, super breakfast and amenities beyond its three star rating. Service slightly pat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting.

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: The staff were incredibly helpful.
Location: The location was fantastic with beautiful views. There was lots to do in the surrounding area and we wish we could have stayed longer.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel. The rooms were clean, nicely decorated and had everything we needed in them.
5 out of 5
by Timothy

Great Hotel in a Perfect Setting

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
We spent two nights at this very attractively located hotel and were suitably impressed by at aspects of our stay. It has a unique character being slightly old fashioned in the nicest possible way - a real sense of history! Great reception and outstanding service throughout. We enjoyed an excellent supper in the bustling and cheerful bar and breakfast was second to none in a nice dining room overlooking the River Dart. Hotel provides a great car parking service - we loved it and will return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on harbour front but overpriced.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: Difficult in an old building but not impossible to install a basic lift
Location: Harbour front, great for river access, trips, ferry, seafood restaurants. Short walk to Dartmouth castle.
Room (24) was small and shower was so small you almost had to stand half in half out although the shower curtain would wrap itself around you. Shower temperature impossible to control and fluctuated cold to scolding hot. Hotel in great location and just step out the door onto the harbour and the town and all the great restaurants and attractions. With no lifts it's a bit of a chore to carry luggage up and down and climb many flights each time to acess room.
5 out of 5
by Howard

Terrific

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
excellent in all respects
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paignton, Devon

Top Dartmouth Hotel in Glorious Devon

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The classiness of the place and the breathtaking view from our room. The rooms are all individually decorated, and ours had only just been re-done.
Cons: The quality of the redecoration of our room was a little slapdash. Edges of wallpaper and ceiling paper were unstuck, etc.
Location: Fantastic location, right in the heart of Dartmouth. Tourist shops, but not many restaurants. Quite a few pubs, though all a bit expensive, though.
Although my wife and I live locally to the Royal Castle Hotel, we decided to treat ourselves for our silver wedding anniversary and spend a couple of nights at the top hotel in Dartmouth. Of course, Dartmouth being Dartmouth where all the prices in the shops, pubs and restaurants are between 10% and 15% more expensive than anywhere else, we expected to pay a little more to stay at the Royal Castle, but it was well worth it. This hotel is a favourite with certain royalty and celebrities, so we expected something special. We were not disappointed. The Royal Castle Hotel is an unusual hotel, a little quirky in a good way, and has a fine view over the estuary of the River Dart. We chose a room with this view and, with the sun shining, the view was breathtaking. The room was freshly decorated and comfortable. We even had a jacuzzi in the bathroom! The hotel staff were both friendly and helpful. The entrance to the hotel is a rather unassuming doorway that leads to a short passage with a dining area one side and a bar the other. The reception is small and cosy, but then it all changes. Look up from the reception and you'll see an amazing high space that reaches up to the glazed roof. Within this space are the stairs up which reminded me of a wooden version of the stairways at Hogwarts School in the Harry Potter film series... only these stairs don't move and the pictures don't move either! It was all very plush. It's a special hotel for one to treat oneself and one's spouse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly hotel in the centre of Dartmouth to

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location, Ambiance, & friendly staff, meet & greet parking
Cons: Was only there for one night, so couldn't really comment
Location: Located in centre of town, close to shops, boat trips down river Dart.
Nice old hotel situated in the centre of Dartmouth town over looking the small harbour & river Dart, the staff we're friendly & very helpful, our room was clean & spacious, bed was comfortable. There was a restraunt & 2 down stairs bars that served food, extensive menu & food was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel great view

Posted Feb 24, 2017
The hotel was amazing it had beatiful views, food was great staff friendly and helpfull the room was a nice size overall a great place