Ratings based on 715 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nottingham UK

Pleasant surprise

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Staff very friendly on the whole, traditional interior, gym, pool and gardens. Close to beach and city centre. Very spacious, quite & relaxing.
Cons: Room interior was a bit tired, top floor very hot.
From the outside at a distance this hotel looks like a '70's office block building but on closer inspection and inside we were pleasantly surprised by the tradition style. We have come to prefer large hotels whilst on our weekend breaks so that we are not forced to socialise at breakfast and can remain private and anonymous when we choose, so this place suited us down to the ground. Plenty of space even at breakfast time to be as unsociable as you like (or not). Check in was swift and trouble free, staff very helpful. Room 435, on the top floor quite comfortable although a bit tired. This hotel is popular and we, unlike a lot of reviewers, understand that everything cannot be brand new and unused all of the time so we don't mind the odd chipped tile or worn desktop as long as it's clean, which this was. Only issue with the room was the heat, we had to ask for, and were quickly provide with, a portable fan. Great views of the bay from the restaurant, we managed to get a window table mostly, breakfast excellent, everything you could want as we wanted it, buffet style. Disappointing dinner though, very small potions and quite expensive, came away still hungry even after three courses. Good wine selection although again on the expensive side. Lots of amenities and nice garden. Our kind of place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham.

Close to all amenities.

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: The hotel was very grand and spacious.
Cons: The only thing I can think of is the creaky floors in the corridors outside of the rooms but you expect that in an old building.
Location: The hotel is a few minutes away from the beach, shops,restaurants and the beautiful harbour.The bus's and ferries are nearby too.
The hotel is great and close to all local amenities.I asked for softer pillows due to my medical condition at reception and within five minutes the housekeeper delivered them, so excellent customer care. Staff were all very polite and approachable. We wish we had booked a room with a sea view but we were very happy overlooking the beautiful houses at the rear.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

4-day break with daughter. Good Value.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Spectacular views & location. Pleasant, polite staff (particularly porter). Old, faded grandeur of hotel appeals very much. Peaceful. Spacious rooms.
Cons: More staff needed: for Bar, for Telephone Reception & Spa. Should increase Spa Reception and Massage availability. Unable to benefit, sadly
Location: Marvellous location. Steam Trains, Ferries, Agatha Christie House, Brixham, Forts, etc. Lovely walks, but BEWARE, steep, as all built up cliffs.
Overall, a lovely, relaxing stay. Shame not able to book sea view with twin-beds, as apparently reserved only for doubles. Illogical!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The breakfasts were very good and the view from the restaurant was amazing overlooking the bay.
Cons: Major investment needed
Location: Location is very central overlooking the bay and marina. However, if walking the road down to town is quite steep.
We booked for 3 nights b & b stay as a birthday treat. On arrival we were given a room on the 4th floor with an amazing view across the bay. Looking around the room we noticed how tatty the furniture was, threadbare arms on the chairs and the curtain was ripped. There were large stains on the headboard. It had large sliding doors out to a balcony but they had a note stuck on them with bluetack to say that we couldn't go out on to the balcony and in fact they only opened about three inches. On using the bathroom we found that the basin tap didn't work. We complained to reception and we moved to a different room which was much smaller and had no sea view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Great place to go for a few days, lots of things to do and enjoy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Listed in the overall rating above.
Cons: Bar meals.
Location: Beautiful location with lovely views from the hotel. Plenty of interesting plaves to visit within a radius of 20 miles.
The hotel was satisfactory, the evening meals in the dining room were good but expensive. The bar meals were disappointing. One problem for 80 year old customers was the walk up the hill from the harbour. It was unusual to hav to pay for parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Choice and range of food eg Gluten Free

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Right on the edge of the coast with views of the sea .
Cons: Parking charges.
Location: Close to town centre . Living ng Coast bird sanctuary .
The food was very good as my wife is a Ceoliac and must have food which is Gluten Free . The staff were very helpful and knowledge was great .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough but not up to expectations.

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: Good views and location.
Cons: People with pets not to placed on same floor as people without.
Location: Good location near to shops and harbour, the perfect location.
We stayed at the imperial on two previous occasions one room standard one room deluxe with a sea view,both were very good and far better than the premium this year.we didn't like where it was situated on the lower level.walking throughout the room was very noisy as the floor boards creeked and the floor was very uneven .we people heard walking in rooms either side of us .on the rooms either side of us we heard dogs barking.the room lighting was also very poor. would not stay at this hotel in a premium room again .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Needs a refurb.

Posted Jun 24, 2017
It's a nice hotel near the sea, but the rooms are quite dated. We were unable to access the outdoor pool after 4pm due to staff shortage, which was a shame considering it was during the hottest days of the year. The hotel staff especially restaurant staff were very friendly and the dinner menu was nice, breakfast selection was vast with a huge variety of items.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from vancouver bc

Period resort hotel with amazing views

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Reception was great
Cons: Other staff were short with guests or plainly inexperienced although those people tried really hard.
Location: We don't care for the downtown location and prefer smaller towns and villiages
Overall fairly pleasant stay mainly because of the amazing location