Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Angeles, WA, USA

Excellent hotel to stay while in Torquay!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: They have wonderful rooms and an excellent breakfast. There is a bar and several rooms to sit and converse. The staff and owners couldn't be nicer.
Cons: Nothing at all - just a perfect place for a perfect vacation.
Location: We recommend the steam train ride from Paignton to Dartmouth, the Kent Caverns, and model village. Try the Hole in the Wall pub in town.
We couldn't have been happier with our stay here. Owners Phil and Vicki were great and run a wonderful hotel and went above and beyond to ensure that we had a great time. The room was quiet and very comfortable. Just a short walk takes you into town (and the marina) or to the beach or coastal trail. We also walked from the hotel to Kent Caverns (about 1.5 mi.) and to the Model Village (about 2.5 mi.) The hotel is situated in a very nice section of Torquay and only is about a 10 min drive from the Torquay rail station. The staff (particularly Luke and Diana) were great people to get to know and took care of everything from the breakfast (which was marvelous), to the bar in the evening, and to helping us decide on what outing to do for the day (and providing information on them). If we have the opportunity to come back to Torquay we will definitely be staying here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by The Team at MBH, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope that we have given you a good reason to return to Torquay in the not too distant future. We'll certainly look forward to welcoming you. Best wishes from all of us at Meadfoot Bay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sutton coldfield

Meadfoot bay hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Taken over by new owners but as before they could not do enough for you been back to this hotel many times now was worried when found out new owners but they were lovley and will be going back again cannot fault anything lovely hotel lovley owners and staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oasis of peace and tranquility

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 star in every way the hotel, local people,food and location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Torquay hotel ,quiet and friendly

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
Family run hotel with a quiet and friendly atmosphere offering an extensive choice at breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Lovely stay, very attentive owners, great breakfast
5 out of 5
by Rachel from Woolaston

Romantic weekend away

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent time away made to feel really special
4 out of 5
by Luke from Ross on Wye

Torquay mini break

Posted Aug 24, 2016 on Hotels
Owners are very accommodating, extremely helpful and would definitely stay again. Breakfast was lovely with everything you could imagine.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loveliest small hotel on the English Riviera!

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is everything one hopes for in a small, family run hotel. It is charming with a lovely location. The hosts were absolutely welcoming and professional with plenty of good advice and extra kindnesses. And the breakfast was superb!
5 out of 5
by Jane from Malvern

Very comfortable stay!

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Hotels
We had a great friendly welcome! Although we arrived before check-in time, we were offered a cup of tea while the rooms were checked for us. We were shown round the rooms, rather than just being given the key, too. We loved the fresh milk for tea in the fridges in the rooms. We were provided with excellent information about local sightseeing, restaurants, etc. The range of food at breakfast was marvellous and the quality excellent. The service throughout our stay was friendly and helpful e.g. ordering a taxi for us to get to the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by Debbie from TravelwithIntent

Great Stay

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
lovely welcome, excellent breakfast, and so much to see and do in the area