Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from North Yorkshire

Top of the hill five minutes walk from town

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Loved the character of the building and friendly hosts. The location is convenient to the town centre. No young children or pets allowed is a bonus.
Cons: The bar closes at 10.00pm, which is a little too early for a night cap, but at least you won't be in a hotel full of rowdy drunkards.
Location: The Shelley is at the top of a steep hill so it is an easy walk down to town and the walk back will burn off some calories. Great restaurants nearby,
The Shelley is a lovely Victorian building full of character. The drive to the small carpark is steep but manageable even with a large estate. The room was clean and tidy with an attention to detail equivalent to a larger upmarket chain with complimentary bottled water, tea, coffee, shoe shine kit, shower cap and the usual shower gel, shampoo and body lotion etc. Much better than a hotel chain was the friendly and personal greeting after our long journey from Nick, who offered us tea on arrival, an explanation of the hotel facilities, including pool and honesty bar, plus local amenities. Although we opted for the traditional English breakfast there is plenty of choice on the breakfast menu. Our order was taken by Nick and served by Chen, both of whom showed genuine interest in our stay in Torquay. Three options of toast with home made marmalade finished breakfast of nicely. Overall, a great experience worthy of a longer stay. There are great restaurants nearby to suit a variety of tastes, with Bianco's, Jingles and Legends at Steps are worth a try.
5 out of 5
by Gary

A hotel to visit

Posted Aug 1, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely Hosts.Very kind.nothing to much trouble yet discreet,Delightful main room,
5 out of 5
by Colin

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
The Shirley is in an excellent location just off Babbacombe Rd for many of the restaurants in Torquay, & is an easy walk into town. The building itself is impressive & the rooms are spacious & clean. Our bed was excellent if you like it vey firm. The quality of service is excellent as are the breakfasts, with a large selection available to cover most tastes. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gareth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Debbie

Lovely hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room and lovely hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
very good staff friendly and a good full english breakfast the only downside to this hotel was is on a steep hill no good if you got health problems
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from staines

An excellent run hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: The location is on a slope,which keeps you fit,there are several things to do,the torquay,wheel,boat trips to Brixham,Dartmouth,quite cheap
We had a lovely three nights at the Shirley,there was a happy atmosphere,the proprietors,were always smiling.The breakfast, was second to none.The décor extremely original,rooms excellent.Obviously when they bought this place,they put a lot of thought into it.Yes it on a slope, but where in Torquay,is not.Should we go to Torquay,again I know where we are staying
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very friendly place.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and helpful owners. Nice breakfasts. Quiet location.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind. Very nice place.
Location: Beaches at Torquay, Dawlish, Teignmouth etc. Paignton zoo. Pretty inland towns (e.g. Totness).
Nice B&B slightly away from the town centre. Nice rooms, honesty bar and swimming pool (which I didn't use).