Ratings based on 380 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenience, charm & class

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Warmth & friendliness
Location: Doolin, Cliffs, Burren Golf, horseback riding Relaxing
Been coming to the Old Ground for 20 yrs whenever I come to family weddings or visits. Close to sights, walking town, great pub with nightly music....a gem
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

well-situated comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Good facilities, good location.
Location: Ennis is a fine place to hear traditional Irish music. Multiple venues every night.
Hotel is right in the lovely town of Ennis. Has a good pub, good food. Rooms are large and comfortable, with a sitting area as well as beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Pros: Location is excellent
Cons: Certainly the old dated room with carpet I was allocated on the fourth floor. Parking is difficult at times spaces are very tight.
Location: Location is great everything is within walking distance. Great shops and restaurants and some very nice coffee shops.
Check in was good. Allocated an old smoking room on the fourth floor on arrival. It did state on the room door non smoking but there was a very strong smell of smoke and the room was very old and not clean. I called the girl at reception and did get moved to a nice clean room on the second floor. Restaurant food very good and so is breakfast. Did enjoy my stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Excellent Hotel in centre of very nice town

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Shopping, golf , walking , sites, Cliffs of Moher, Wild Atlantic way etc Just relaxing
Staff are excellent in this hotel are a credit to any business ,from check in , room service, bar staff, restaurant staff . Room are very comfortable, beds are the most comfortable we have experienced in a long time. Food in the Poets corner is very good and good value. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Beautiful hotel in the centre of Ennis.

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Staff were welcoming, courteous, helpful and above all caring. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Live traditional Irish music in the evenings was a bonus. We had breakfast included and it was perfection. Thank you to everyone at the Old Ground.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Nice hotel in centre of town

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Great location. Very comfortable hotel. Lovely old building right in the middle of town. Facilities were good . Wifi wasn’t great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

more than we expected...

Posted Oct 6, 2017
we had a lovely room. it was a suite actually. v comfortable. nice shower. two tvs. wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Very nice hotel in Ennis

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Clean, quaint, friendly staff.
Cons: As with all the hotels we visited in Ireland, the pillows in the bedrooms, were very uncomfortable. Everything else with hotel and staff was fine.
Location: Main streets of Ennis just around the corner. Most everything within walking distance. Numerous restaurants and shopping locations. Clean and safe.
Nice quaint hotel with friendly helpful staff. Ennis was an enjoyable town within walking distance of hotel, with numerous restaurants and shopping locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.J.

Classy and traditional

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Classic old hotel that still knows how to do it right. Great bed, climate control, very nice experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Civilised hotel with comfortable room. Car park is useful if busy but quite hard to find in the one way system Great breakfast