Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northamptonshire england

Secluded hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Hotel tired, room dated and needed decoration, poor choice of bar food but excellent breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Beautiful location. Could be outstanding with some attention to the details such as cleaning the balcony floor and table, straightening the lamp shades and pictures and touch up some paint. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

In the Wickland area

Posted Sep 2, 2017
This hotel is very close to Powerscourt and on part on the military road drive. It has two areas, the old hotel which is lovely and the garden rooms. We were in a garden room. If possible ask for a room looking over the countryside, ours overlooked the carpark and the back of the main hotel. It has a restaurant and bar. We ate in the restaurant one evening. It has a limited menu. The pork loin was good but nothing special. The chicken dish was excellent. Breakfast was an Irish breakfast buffet. The WIFI did not connect to the internet any time while we were there. When we remarked on it they just said it was because of the area and made no effort to correct it. Mostly a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leeds

Nice if you're in the main hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Staff and cleanliness
Cons: More staff, wider choice in the bar
Location: Lovely location and very near (you could walk) to Powerscourt. Short drive to Bray and it's lovely coastal walk. Short run to Dublin
Mostly good though some areas need working on. Staff were friendly but sometimes absent The apartments at the back were fine if you wanted to cater for yourself but we fouND them very small, noisy and a bit smelly generally. When we said this to reception they stated they were full but later they were good enough to called us because they had a cancellation and we were moved to an excellent room. The Restaurant was pleasant and the food reasonable (good breakfast fair evening meal) Limited bar choice of both drink and food (too many fried dishes). Overall though a pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
We were in one of the townhouses bottom floor. Person above paced all night. There were a couple of Tour bus groups at the hotel. Food was great, just lots of people standing over our table while they were in line for the buffet.Staff were wonderful.
2 out of 5
by Steve from Mansfield.

Poor decision to stay here.

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Will not be rushing back anytime soon. The brochure in the room said the hotel had "Old World Charm" I would better describe it as neglected and tired. Old Triton electric shower over bath with mouldy sealant. wornout electric storage heaters in the bedroom. Just as well I was staying in the middle of a heatwave because I would not have trusted them if I had to turn them on!!!
3 out of 5
by Vincent

Not a business hotel

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
No working Wi-fi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Killarney, Co Kerry.

Summerhill House Hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2016
This is a good three star hotel with excellent staff. What the hotel lacks in facilities it makes up by having excellent staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Country style hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Nice size rooms and very comfortable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was very nice. Good hotel. Quiet time of year in hotel, end of November.