Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Es un hotel tranquilo sin embargo no tiene todos los servicios.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, secured parking, in the heart of downtown.

Posted Nov 20, 2015
Pros: Room was very clean. Staff was courteous. Able to make solid reservations on USA website. Secured parking behind a gate and with staff on duty 24 hour
Cons: They are in the process of updating old rooms. Carpet coming out, fake hardwood going in with other other minor facelift improvements.
Location: In the south end of the main tourist strip. Easy to walk to the bay, shopping, bars, restaurants. About 45 minute drive to La Bufadora (Blow hole)
Hotel is kept clean. Staff is courteous. Many are bi-lingual. Felt good about solid reservation on USA website. Felt good about secured parking. Location is in the heart of tourist area, within walking distance of where cruise ships dock so lots of tourist oriented shops, bars, restaurants, bay and taxi handy. Not that this place great, it not, its just that it is better then the other hotels in this immediate vicinity-- and their price reflects it-- pay a little more than the ones just across or down the street. Rooms on the front of the hotel are a mixed bag, good people watching on the main street but can be noisy. Some interior rooms offer ugly view, best with pool view and hope for quiet. Overall, this place is not a mistake. Better hotels can be had, but they are outside of downtown.
3 out of 5
by raymundo

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
El trato muy amable pero ya es un hotel viejo, cuartos pequeños, No muy buena distribución (escalones en el cuarto) y un poco oloroso. No tiene elevador. Le hace falta una remodelada por que esta muy bien ubicado.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ensenada Gem

Posted Jul 27, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel in a wonderful centralized location! The staff was wonderful and the hotel was lovely. The pool area was very nice and our room was quite comfortable.
4 out of 5
by Arturo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to Baja 500

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: need to have a couple of grill around the swimming pool.
staff was berry experience in the facility thanks.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D.F.

Hotel agradable y de facil acceso

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: La habitación
Cons: Las cortinas de las ventanas. Renovarlas.
Location: Ruta del vino. Excelente.
Buen hotel para negocios o placer. Ubicado en la calle principal de Ensenada con todos los servicios para descansar.
3 out of 5
by E. Waumans

Just as any Ensenada hotel, it's below standards

Posted May 24, 2015 on Orbitz
Below standards compared to what you pay for it, but there isn't much you can do about it. This is about the best (least worse) you can find within this price range, otherwise you'd have to go to Marina Coral, which is out of town. Even though basic, breakfast has been removed from the facilities, coffee is horrible (it almost is everywhere in Mexico and US, not part of the culture). Rooms aren't updated in years, I guess the owners just like to sit on the profits of their investments as long as possible instead of providing a better service and attracting more customers. The problem in Ensenada is : amount of hotels in comparison to demand, the owners sit on a luxury of having hotels fully booked during US holiday seasons. The hotel isn't a bad option, bearing in mind the alternatives.
3 out of 5
by ernesto from SD

Friendly staff, slow front desk

Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
I called a day ahead to ask for a room away from the noisy street, The person that answered the phone (Eduardo) was very friendly. At my arrival I was given the room as requested, but the person at the front desk was really, really slow. It took more than 30 minutes to check in and there was only one couple ahead of us. Very inefficient, but all staff was friendly
4 out of 5
by Carl from Bakersfield

First stay at El Cid Ensenada

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
We really liked the ambiance of this older hotel. Very authentic Mexican style. Our room was on the Main Street but noise was not a problem. Their are two steps from the entry down to where The bed is so have to be careful. Our room had a refrigerator, sink and a hairdryer was provided. The hotel service was very good. We noticed the hotel rates posted are cheaper than our booking on Hotels.com. We stayed a second night and the room was $50. less. Of course we visited Hussong's and had roasted chicken at El Charro. The drive down was very pleasant.