Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Clifton Park NY

Located between some great little towns

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Everything. To narrow it down, the room felt like home.
Cons: I don't have a single complaint. Loved every bit of it.
Location: Lancaster County has a lot going on and is gorgeous. Hershey park isn't far away. Gettysburg is a quick drive. The Amish around are also interesting.
My wife and I were looking to his a few different places in Pennsylvania for a long weekend. The Smithton Inn had some great pictures online and was central to everything we wanted. Booking on a whim turned out to be one of the best decisions of the weekend. The Inn is located on a corner of two roads just close enough to everything without being in the middle of it. There is absolutely no road noise inside the Inn. The grounds are well kept. The Inn has a wine tasting room and a tasteful gift shop. The owner of the Inn is an incredibly nice woman who genuinely enjoys her job and goes the extra mile to make your stay incredible. She cooks breakfast every morning herself, and the cooking is exquisite. She knows everything about the surrounding areas, and even further out. She gave us great tips on Ephrata, Lancaster County, Hershey, and Gettysburg. We booked the Crimson Dove room. The king sized bed was very comfortable. The room a perfect blend of historic rustic and modern amenities. The bathroom was all tile with radiant heat and an amazing jacuzzi tub. I don't have a single negative thing to say about the Inn or those who run it. Will absolutely stay again next time I need a room in PA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Rebecca, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at the Historic Smithton Inn! I'm so glad your 'whim' brought you to us and I look forward to having you come back again. Hosting terrific guests like you, and helping them fall in love with this area (like we have), are what makes my job so fun!!!
5 out of 5
by James

Great place!

Posted Mar 30, 2017 on Hotels
First time at a B&B. Very friendly staff. Breakfast was great. Charming histories room. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by Keith

Excellence! ! !

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellence... A Bed & Breakfast To Be Proud Of
5 out of 5
by Michael

Clean , good food , great owners , will go pack

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
An amazing stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smithton Inn- Chocolate Room

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing!! Felt like we were at home. Clean, cozy, and great hospitality!!! Highly recommend!! Exceptional service! Wonder experience!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing place and people

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
I loved this place. We came for our 22nd Anniversary and it was perfect. We stayed in the Crimson Dove Suite and just loved it. The bed was so comfortable and the room had so many amenities. The breakfast was amazing as well as the owners. I just can't say enough good things. We will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quality and comfort bed and breakfast

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Once I arrived, I was immediately greeted with a friendly face. I was offered a free room upgrade simply because the room was available. The owner asked what time I would like to have breakfast served. When I told her I would be leaving for a business meeting every day by 7:30. She stated that she would be happy to have my breakfast prepared by 7:00 am!! The breakfast was restaurant quality and served with a smile. Overall my stay was wonderful! I would definitely come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
😊 wonderful time! Nice people, lovely rooms, great location
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

This is a must stay B&B!

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Honestly, there was nothing not to like about the Historic Smithton Inn.
Cons: We loved everything!
Location: Wolf Sanctuary of PA, Pedal car museum, Cloister, many restaurants/bars, farmers market, churches.
The owners, Rebecca and Dave, are such wonderful people! Always pleasant and willing to give suggestions on places to visit, eat/drink, and directions. Rebecca makes incredible food for breakfast that is very tasty and filling. There is a main dish, fresh fruit, juices, milk, coffee, tea, water, homemade breads and/or muffins, granola, cold cereal, and instant oatmeal offered daily. We stayed in the Tailors Cottage and absolutely loved it! It was like a home away from home. The bed and pillows were so comfortable! The bathroom is huge and the jetted tub was so relaxing. Plenty of water pressure in the shower. Robes, shampoo, soaps, lotion, and hair dryer are provided. A 2hr log for the fireplace is provided daily, but you can purchase another if you want. They have a DVD library with around 400+ movies you can choose from and watch. They also have a gift shop where you can purchase souveniers, wine, snack items, soaps, lotions, jellies, cookie and soup mixes. I know I forgot some items, but I'm sure you get the gist. We absolutely enjoyed our stay and are definitely going back!