Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice option to staying in Lancaster.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The owners were intelligent and kind and responded quickly to my questions and request. Soft, thick towels. Very comfortable bedding.
Cons: The breakfast was not as good as I had hoped. A Mennonite woman may be the cook, but that doesn't guarantee great baking--- good, but not great.
Location: Lovely country setting. One window view is of a cornfield, another is of their barn.
Having previously stayed in a B&B in Lancaster and several different Lancaster motels/hotels, I was ready to try a nearby community and then commute to Lancaster. This B&B was overall a good choice. I am on the fence about the breakfast in your room. The pro: Kreurig, nice. If you're an early riser, you may eat whenever you want because the food is already in the room refrigerator when you arrive.The con: The food is precooked and you have to use the room microwave in order to eat the egg casserole. Definitely not the same flavor as when you're served a freshly prepared meal. The baked goods were average. I'm originally from Pennsylvania so I've had plenty of shoo fly pie. The shoo fly pies were average in taste. The same with the blueberry muffins---just average. The "juice" in the refrigerator was a watered down mystery beverage. Suggestion to the owners: Please include one sharp paring knife in the silverware drawer so the guests may slice the apples in the refrigerator. I would not book a room in the historic house--- although lovely-- because of the shared porch to the owners' house. Both the day of check in and the following morning, the owners' children and/or friends sat on the porch chairs talking for hours. They were not yelling, and well behaved (and I love children!) but it was disconcerting to have several voices talking right outside of your bedroom windows. Even with closed window blinds, the sound carried into the room and we felt we did not have privacy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Schenectady, N.Y..

Wonderful treat!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: see above
Location: Lots to do in the Pa Dutch country and not too far from Hershey Park.
This BnB is like staying at a posh friend's home. Everything was spotless and any questions were immediately answered. Lots of lovely touches and the idea of breakfast being ready whenever you rise is lovely, Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect getaway!

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Beautiful bnb. You couldn't ask for anything more. Very tranquil and serene. Hospitality was awesome. Views were breathtaking. Breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Excellent 5star B&B

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: Location, people, room/suite....Oh the breakfast....yum
Cons: Perhaps a screen door.
Location: A great place to stay and use as a base if you want to experience the Lancaster area, we enjoyed the Sight & Sound Theatre, which wasn't too far away.
I can't say enough about this place. LOVED IT! The Welcome was extremely hospitable. Superb suite/room, where every need was anticipated for this amazing country retreat. If you just wanted to stay in the room to relax, you could, flat screen TV, Keurig coffee and tea choices, chilled beverages gas fire place (if cold) air con (if hot), lounge and kitchen area, as well as bathrobes and toiletries. The breakfast experience was sublime, (if I could, I would give an award for this!) it was served in your room, and included homemade breakfast casserole, yogurt with granola and scrumptious pastries and muffins. The location for us was wonderful as we wanted an escape from the city to the country, where we could experience the local Amish & Mennonite. We bonused, we just happened to be at the hotel the weekend that they host an annual auction to benefit Haiti. It's a time where the whole community gather and yes that also includes the Amish & Mennonite, it was a terrific experience, I Have never been to an auction, I met a lady who just happened to be the owners mother and she went out of her way to involve me in the experience. The owner herself was equally driving.ightful. We will go back! We had a great time.
5 out of 5
by Haegon

Best B&B!

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
The best B&B! Wonderful breakfast! Very nice room and peaceful location. Kind. Very good place to get rest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful B&B in farm country

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Price, location & in-room breakfast
Location: Lititz - small town with cute shops and Wilbur chocolate factory Lancaster - city market and Lancaster Brewing Co Amish Experience tours
Loved our stay in the Buch Suite. Breakfasts were delicious and very generous. Very quiet location. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bethlehem, PA

A remarkable suite with in room breakfast

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Lititz is a lively and charming town 15 minutes away. We ate at the Bull's Head Pub which we loved.
Hertzog Homestead was the perfect setting for our anniversary. We chose the Hertzog Suite, with a beautiful sleigh bed, elegant decor, and hot tub on a private patio. A delicious breakfast was ready for us to enjoy in our room. The owner's, Kristen and Scott, know how to exceed expectations by their passion for excellence in preparation and service.
5 out of 5
by Larisa

Lovely In-Suite B&B in Lancaster area

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this place! We stayed in the carriage house, right across from the main house. We needed a late check in, and everything was arranged. Our room was very spacious for family of 4 with 2 grown sons (one 6'5" and the slightly smaller). Very clean and comfortable bedding, nicely decorated. There is a full table and kitchenette. The breakfast was In Suite breakfast (not your typical B&B). The breakfast was left in our room when we arrived, pastries on the table and egg casseroles, fresh yogurt, and drinks in the fridge. There was also a Keurig with coffee and teas. This was the highlight of our trip! The flexibility of the breakfast service was perfect with our unusual schedule (we were in a soccer tournament), as was the our direct entrance into the suite. We enjoyed the Amish pies as dessert, and the pastries on the run. So Good! Sadly we didn't have a chance to meet our hostess, since we were running in and out. Only downsides: the bathroom is only a one-person size (though the shower is huge with 2 heads), and our neighbor next door had his TV on at 6:30 AM Sunday morning, which could be heard through the walls. It is also a short drive from Lancaster/Ephrata, which was nice to be out in the country. Definitely recommend the comfortable big room and the wonderful Amish spread!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Living in a piece of history.

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Our stay was in the historical homestead. It had the nestalgia of history with the modern comforts. The Amish made breakfast was delicious and the bath towels beyond soft. My only regret is we stayed only one night. Our next visit will be longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Awesome place to stay!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Room was very clean and breakfast was delicious! The bed also slept very well.