Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by Al

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Paul from Belfast

Worst mattress ever...

Posted Oct 26, 2014 on Hotels
I have stayed in some budget hotels and hostels throughout the World but this hotel did contain...the worst mattress...ever. It was a double bed so if one person moved, so did the other. The sound of twanging springs every time either one of us moved unsurprisingly led an extremely uncomfortable nights sleep. The fact that this hotel does not have a lift meaning I had to lift our 3 month old baby with pram and heavy suitcase up and down a flight of stairs was nothing compared to the worst mattress...ever. The staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful but if you want a good nights sleep, go elsewhere. There's no way I would go back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Decent, nice hotel after the exterior

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Decent, nice hotel with pretty good rooms. But you have to get past the shabby exterior and corridors. They give you biscuits with the tea which is always a good sign.
4 out of 5
by Ken

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 9, 2014
executive room with two double beds for two people takes up to much room
3 out of 5
by ns9pwh from norfolk

Trampoline beds

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels
Good location for access to london, only 10 min walk to epping tube station. Clean hotel but my only complaint is the beds were so soft and springy they could of been used by a trampoline club! Check out time is noon which gives plenty of time for a nice lie in or wonder around the adjacent common before departure.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Basic and clean room. Close to station.

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: Clean room. Good shower.
Cons: More personality in rooms.
Location: Nice cafe and shops near by and easy to get into London.
Good hotel which is a good base. Good room rates. Good distance to station for travelling into London.
3 out of 5
by Familie from Norge

OK hotell med grei beliggenhet

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels
Helt greit hotell. rommet vårt var nylig oppusset med god standard. Litt støy fra hovedvei om dagen, men stille om natten. Litt upersonlig hotell men rene rom, bra service og hyggelig personale
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable. Shame about the noise.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: The staff's response to the complaints of guests.
Location: N/A
The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. We had a decent sized double room and we ordered room service after a long day. The food came quickly and although the menu was extensive, the food itself was average. Ok if you're starving hungry but you may prefer to find a restaurant locally if you're looking for a special meal. The room was absolutely fine but unfortunately we were woken up 3 or 4 times throughout the night as it seems that people stumble home to this hotel after a heavy night of drinking. Not the hotel's fault of course but they did not make much effort to address the issue even after several calls from other guests staying at the hotel. Apparently they sent a member of staff to find the people causing the noise but couldn't find anyone. Not good enough considering the noise was going on between 2am and 4am. Also, no money off or offers made following the complaint. They didn't even try to sweet talk us! Perhaps this was just a one off but we wouldn't risk going back...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midlands

Noisey group in other room.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location to grand children & son
Cons: Bar area & dining area could do with upgrade. Pricing was above what you should expect for accomodation. Not a hotel more a motel.
Location: Close to epping forest, history & nature go side by side.
Noises group in other room broke our sleep, it went on for some time, many reported it at reception the following day, offered free breakfast to make amends, but had already agreed to meet son & grand children for breakfast. We had been upgraded but that made no difference as the group were above us.