Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by RUTH from North West

Fair - but felt like I was in a building

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
When we arrived we were put in a room that was very unsafe- broken lights, broken window , tv did not work and flooring cracked. However once we complained was moved to a better room. There was a lot of building work going on in the hotel, electric work being done, painting, new carpets being laid in the corridors,the front of the hotel was boarded up at one point - not sure if it should have been accepting guess if so much work going on
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
There was an infestion of ants in the bathroom
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nothing special

Posted Jul 3, 2014
wi fi was not working, staff people mostly impolite. Absolutely a not cheap rate even if breakfast was not included
1 out of 5
by Anita from Essex

Disappointing

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
We were very disappointed, not with the actual hotel, but with the service. We booked a family room and after stating we were two adults and two children, were then given a TRIPLE room!! To be fair, this was stated on booking confirmation, so I rang the hotel and queried this, only to be told I was ok it WAS a family room!! We turned up and were told the children could share a bed!!! They are aged 11 and 12! After a long and tiresome 'debate' the hotel finally agreed to put in an extra bed......which there was ample room for! To be honest, the rest of hotel was fine, but this spoilt our stay. Be warned, their family rooms are only for TWO adults and ONE child!!!!
3 out of 5
by Jill from Preston

Convenient hotel needing some improvements

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff resolved issues very professionally - leaving a much improved feeling about the hotel from all of us
Cons: Cleanliness, room checking & flooring
Location: Very pleasant area & convenient for househunting in the woodford area
Very pleasant staff made up for failure to clean room (cups etc.) or make beds after the first night. Following a long day househunting we were very disappointed to see the room had not been serviced (except the bathroom-which had!). Staff put it right once we complained & were very apologetic, but it should not have happened. Also did not like the laminate floor in the bedroom - it was not very clean beside the beds (spilt drinks?) & the beds slid across the floor if sitting up leaning on the pillows against the bedhead - very disconcerting!
3 out of 5
by sheila from kent

Value for money

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Only that it was close to where we needed to be.
Cons: General look of the place needs brightening up carpets in communal areas looked grubby and the grounds could do with sprucing up a bit.
Needed a place to stay in Epping as we were attending a wedding and this served the purpose. Beds were fairly comfortable and were clean tea, coffee & biscuits provided. For the price we paid it was good value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel but in serious need of a refurb

Posted Apr 28, 2014
From the outside the hotel looks quite nice but as soon as you get through the main reception to the other block it becomes very shabby and out dated, with worn out looking carpets and paintwork. It doesn't make for a great impression after the welcoming reception area - definite work needed here. Room itself was comfy and mostly clean enough however there were some questionable marks in the toilet which obviously hadn't been cleaned properly and no toilet brush for us to try and deal with it! We only used the hotel as a base so for that it was fine and local to the activities we were doing, so access wasn't a problem Breakfast was included in our room price; it was alright but certainly not worth £8.95 if you are thinking or adding it on as an extra. Overall I was slightly disappointed I would have expected a Best Western to be slightly better and actually we would have a better deal and more up to date facilities at a Travelodge I think.
2 out of 5
by Crossinkent from Kent

Saturday night stay

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel is tired. The cobwebs were like those seen in a ghost film! The room below ceiling level was tidy but tired. The bed was clean and comfortable. The party next door started at 11 and continued until 4am despite 2 visits from the consierge. I was not impressed by his response after ignoring 2 phone calls lasting 30 minutes at 2.30. The desks response in the morning was " book premium rooms next time". I could say more.....
3 out of 5
by jack from chichester

Outside Hallways could be better

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: convienient to our wedding venue
Cons: Decoration
We stayed the night for a wedding, had breakfast which was good the restaurant was very clean and the waitress was very good
4 out of 5
by Mark from Manchester

Good location for Gaynes Park

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Quiet, big rooms, Indian restaurant on site. No complaints.