Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017 on Hotels
Plenty of parking, friendly staff, elegant grounds. very nice breakfast and short walk to Herculean Ruins.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, England

Very ornate, décor was amazing.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Big rooms, big grounds total opulence, very grand.
Cons: The plumbing (showers need updating if possible), air conditioning could do with updating too if possible.
Location: The location is about 10 mins walk from Herculenium and a very good museum too nearby. The Gladiator bar/restaurant is very pleasant, and good value.
On the upside, staff were helpful and friendly, clean sheets and towels every day, breakfast was a vast selection of hot and cold food, pastries, fruit, yoghurts, juices, and delicious coffee - the tea on the otherhand wasn't quite up to scratch, although the selection of teas was immense, a flask of hot water was not really sufficient to brew the bag in. On the downside, the shower's water was only tepid (even at 40 degrees) so disappointing in that area, also there was a strong sulphur smell emanating from the plug hole when water was turned on (probably to do with either the water system and being in a volcanic area) not sure, but it wasn't very pleasant. The air conditioning didn't work properly. Overall though, a really opulent, comfortable room, bed was enormous, views of the 'interesting' main road, Versuvius to the left and ahead the isle of Ischia and the bay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from manchester UK

Hotel is dated and needs updating.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Large clean rooms Comfortable bed
Cons: Needs decorating Plumbing Facilities
Location: Great location for Herculaneum & Popeii, local trains are cheap and reliable.
I had to change the room I was given as it had a disabled shower. My new room was large with a lovely comfortable bed. However the bath leaked and was unusable. The safe didn't work and although the hotel promised to get it fixed it did not happen. We were charged €33 for 3 beers which is extortion. Although the hotel was clean and the staff friendly, I would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location to stay for Herculaneum and Naples

Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
Reception staff were very good. Lovely large rooms and ensuites. Unfortunately, the air conditioning is turned off at the end of September and it was apparently un-seasonally hot in mid October. Breakfast was typical for hotels throughout Italy, with good choice, but the coffee was awful. Restaurant food quality was disappointing.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Brilliant location for a Base to tour surrounding

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Hotel is 10 minutes walk through a busy high street offering plenty of eating places and shops to train station, which will take you to either napals or sorrento. Hotel offered great breakfast. Clean rooms and perfect pool area. 5 minute walk to herculean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Good for an overnight but needs improvements

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting and excellent restaurant. Pool and gardens. Onsite, free parking.
Cons: Mold & damp in bathrooms felt like a health risk. Air conditioning in bedrooms needs improving.
Location: 20 mins from Naples & airport. Herculaneum, Pompeii & Vesuvius. Easy drive to Sorrento & on to the Amalfi coastline.
This was an overnight stay on the last night of our holiday as it was close to Naples airport without being in the city. We'd spent the morning walking up Vesuvius so were desperate to get in the pool. Pool area set nicely in the lovely grounds of the hotel and drinks and snacks were available from the cabin there. The only issue was the water was extremely murky making it difficult to judge the depth of the pool. Lunch and dinner at the onsite restaurant was superb and the setting in the evening was beautiful. We left too early in the morning for breakfast. The biggest problems were in the bedroom. A beautifully clean, spacious, high-ceiling room was ruined by the air conditioning that didn't work. In 40 degree heat this was unbearable. There was a gaping hole in part of the ceiling. The bathroom had clearly been recently refurbished based on the modern shower contraption installed over the old bath. This wasn't a great success and leaked everywhere and the mold & mildew around the bath would suggest this was an ongoing problem. Attempts to mask the smell with a plug-in air freshener were woefully inadequate and did nothing to solve the underlying problem. I believe this could be a wonderful hotel if it could just improve the air-conditioning and damp problems. Perfectly located for so many attractions and with great facilities and helpful staff. It also has free onsite parking - a rarity in Naples.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mixed Feelings about our stay

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: Staff were helpful and friendly, pool area lovely, gardens very pleasant
Cons: upgrading and general maintenance in rooms but beautiful hotel can be restored to its former glory
Location: 10mins walk to train station - perfect, 10mins walk to Herculaneum perfect - area itself very run down and not pretty very rough
I have mixed feelings about our stay at this hotel. The hotel itself was at some stage a beautiful building but it really does need some serious TLC. The staff were very friendly & were most helpful & inviting. The breakfast was very traditional, other than the later you were there in the morning the colder the "hot" food & coffee would be, but all cool options were very nice.,waiters more than happy to serve us our Cappuccinos and Latte's when we asked for them rather than the luke warm coffee in the urn. Our bedroom was large, clean & airy with beautiful high ceilings, with a large comfortable super-king sized bed - well two very large single beds pushed together, which would have been fine if the sheets actually fitted which they didn't & that was very annoying. The air con in the room was really poor & at full power didn't really throw out much cool air, average temp was 35 - but thank goodness for the high ceilings so the room wasn't unbearable. Our room overlooked the main road which was an entertainment in itself watching the madness from the balcony but luckily the doors kept most of the noise out of the room from the road until around 8.45 rush hour. The bathroom was great at first look with his & her basins, large shower unit & Jacuzzi bath BUT...the sink leaked, the shower leaked & yep the Jacuzzi leaked as well, we spent most of the time mopping the floor up after using them complained the reception asked for extra towels but nothing changed - we would stay again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good staff

Posted Jul 27, 2017
This place is a contrast as the staff are very good and the restaurant excellent. The pool was great and the grounds as promised historic and expansive. The hotel is situated in a noisey and pretty grotty area. There are good restaurants within walking distance and the hotel is good value for money but the air cond didn't work while we stayed and that made it difficult to sleep. The rooms need refurbishing. I would recommend the restaurant and commend the staff for their coutesy and patience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2017
We did have issues with the staff. Being walked in on when sign was on the door. No knocking was involved either.