Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Avalon - Erie PA

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: Lobby, public area, location
Cons: Rooms need a complete overhaul. New furniture, and a better understanding of how rooms should be cleaned for guests.
Location: Downtown Erie. We went for the Gannon U commencement. We'd choose another hotel in the future.
Entering the Hotel, the lobby and public areas are truly grand, but the hallways and rooms leave something to be desired. Our room, while appearing clean, had sticky end tables and the carpeting did not appear to be clean. The bed had a broken box spring, causing one side of the bed to sag - making sleeping very uncomfortable. The sofa bed had no sheets with the hidden mattress looking very unclean. I would not choose this location again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from erie, pa

Old and outdated

Posted May 16, 2017
Found a rat in the lobby, staff did not clean our room or provide with toiletries or fresh towels. Breakfast was ok and parking is in a dirty basement
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location, poor quality

Posted May 15, 2017
The rooms, had peeling walls, and dirty rooms. Our keys never worked so we had to keep getting new ones. Stay somewhere else if possible
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No heat or hot water

Posted Apr 23, 2017
The heater did not work. On the second day, I had no water in the shower.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Loud dance club music was bleeding into room, making it difficult to sleep. In the morning there was no hot water. Cold shower was not welcome after music keeping me up at night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warren, PA

Oh my!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
For how much I paid for a room I was expecting a lot better. I was afraid if I moved anywhere in the room I'd caught something. Was very disappointing. The elevators were scary and the employees smoke RIGHT by the door so when u come in u have to try to squeeze past them to go up the stairs from the parki g lot. Parking in the "parking lot" underground was a joke. I didn't feel safe at all with my car there. We arrived at 8pm and couldn't wait to leave in the morning. Only thing good about it was the location of said hotel, so we were on walking distance to where we were going. However, the receptionist that night was nice and it was easy to check in. That's it. Don't plan on going back at all!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would of been better

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Again better rate if breakfast was better, was sooooo bad. Several things wasn't working
4 out of 5
by Danny T

Hotel Room for St. Patty's Day

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Front desk was very helpful and courteous. Walls to the outside street were very thin. You can hear everything outside. People talking cars, ect.. Room was very clean bed was very soft. Bathroom was moderate and clean. Very close to all the activities for the evening. Hotel had its own parking garage which was very nice.
3 out of 5
by Greg

A port in the storm

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Been staying here for 30 years and the hotel has gone down hill
2 out of 5
by Zach

Poor

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Checked in a 2pm on 3-11-17, then left the hotel. Came back later that night went up to my room and they gave my room to another person.