Ratings based on 939 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
If you have somewhere to go downtown its fine for a one night stay, long term I wouldn't recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Dirty, broken furniture, nonworking lights

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Smelled horrible, unable to control the room temperature, opened curtains for light because none of the lamps worked, only to find old building supplies all over the windowsill, moldy shower curtain, non working hairdryer, poor lightening in the bathroom which made it hard to shower at night, found a dirty towel and garbage under tv table the morning we were checking out when I bent down to put my shoes on. Went to use the main bathroom on the main floor to find that the sink was broken and there was no sanitizer... Decided that it was unsafe to eat their continental breakfast and left early!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Disappointing

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Cleanliness.
Cons: Beds, décor, amenities.
Location: Nice location. Close drive to many points of interest. Good restaurants nearby.
The location is ideal. The hotel was clean. The staff members were very agreeable and tended to our needs, but the hotel was very stark in its amenities. The beds were very soft and uncomfortable. WIFI didn't work very well. The breakfast was sparse. The bar and restaurant never opened. Our rooms were extremely hot and wouldn't cool down with adjustment to the thermostat. The desk clerk did bring us fans to help. No pictures on the walls. Very old-fashioned in its décor (1970s).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good proxity to downtown, but run down hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Good location to downtown, but the rooms need real updates. The beds were very uncomfortable. A bit overpriced for what you get
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, ON

Good location- bad hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2016
Pros: Location only
Cons: upgrade rooms- bedding- ind air units so you can control your own room temp
Location: Lots of great bars and restaurants
The whole hotel has to be on the same heating/cooling unit- could not turn on air- window was broken which was good so could open window- but loud downtown- so uncomfortable at night. At check in they said make sure the heat is off and close the blinds and call for a fan if you need- meaning they know the problem- yet don't fix it. Very busy hotel, due to location, not because of hotel and it's amenities.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Avalon is hotel from hell.

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Pros: none
Cons: airconditoning unit.
Location: none
I booked two rooms for my family and our relatives from California one month in advance in Avalon hotel. When we arrived there we were not told that the airconditioning were not working. We found out the hard way. We tried calling other hotels but every hotel were booked. We dont have a choice but to stay for the night. We asked for electric fans and we were told to just open the windows. Opening the windows did not help because it was very noisy outside, with people shouting and a band playing on the second floor all night. The next day , I met a maintenance guy who told me that Avalon would not pay extra for overtime to repair the airconditioning unit because they knew that the customers have no choice but to stay in the hotel because all the other hotels were fully booked. I will never go back to Avalon and I advice everyone to stay away from this place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from U. S. V. I

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: The staff were very accommodating and real help full
Cons: I
Location: The location was excellent for the occasion real close to Gannon University....Bus stop and transportation and shops
we got in late the morning like 2:00 AM and was impressed the room was ready
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Yuck.

Posted Apr 24, 2016
My boyfriend feel fell asleep with his glasses on and they fell off during the night, he reached under the bed the next morning and also set off the MOUSE TRAP that was under there... no garbage can in the bathroom.... complimentary shampoo and lotion bottles were dirty and looked as if they had been refilled... Floor very dirty...room was huge, which was ok, but there was nothing in it but the bed and dresser with a small old tv on top of it... Complimentary breakfast was bad(ended up leaving sms not eating it) there were 2 bagels and 3 danishes left in the cabinet and a line of people waiting for the only other thing to eat, which was make your own waffles...the machine took 3 or 4 minutes to make one and someone from the kitchen had to come or to get the batter dispenser and refill it, which is when we decided to just leave....Won't be staying there again, although the staff, especially the guy who checked us in, was super friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rundown.

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Staff friendly.
Location: Walking distance to the Warner Theatre which was gorgeous.
Some of the floors are closed down totally and dark. My husband knows this because he was looking for a machine with water. It's very rundown, old, unkept. We had an upgraded suite which the checking staff was kind enough to upgrade us to, however it was ripped furniture, and unclean in many parts of the room. There was NO air conditioning. They said it doesn't get turned on till spring. Room was hot, like 80's. The windows only opened so far, no circulation. I have a severe bee allergy and was afraid a bee would get it. The room was huge, but also rundown. Staff was very nice, but I have a feeling this hotel will be closed in a matter of years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsfield, Pa

Downtown Erie hotel, stay somewhere else

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Hmmmm. The bed was comfortable.
Cons: All of the above!
The parking garage seemed like it would be great.No walking on the street late at night. The ticket dispenser was broken (but no sign stating such). here were about 8-10 cars in the whole lot.When I got to the desk the man was very nice. He gave me a ticket I had to put on my dash.Great. It's after midnight.I spent all day at the hospital, now I have to walk through the lobby and take the elevator downstairs, then walk to the car, put the flier on the dash, then go back. My room was on the 7th floor, near the end (despite the fact there seemed to be very few guests). I get to my room- the door is open.There is a wad of toilet paper in the peep hole.The adjoining door is also open, as well as the door into that room.Great.I am uneasy so I go back downstairs, the desk attendant went back up with me, checked everything out, said he was "not surprised".The staff door near the elevator had all the wires cut where you would insert a key to unlock it....just hanging open. Actoss the street was a bar with outdoor seating-it supposedly closed at 2 am, but they were out there yelling, playing music, for several hours later.The bed was very comfortable but who could sleep with all the noise?! Not to mention I moved the chair in front of one door and the luggage rack in front of the other. The tiny locks/chains did NOT make me feel safe.Not to mention my room had mailbox numbers for the door, only my room not the rest.Makes you wonder if they send the girl that's alone to that room?