Ratings based on 1,025 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Staff who don't care and freezing cold rooms...

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: Nothing. The nicest thing was the lady at the buffet who was very nice and friendly to us. I think she could tell we were upset and angry.
Cons: The entire hotel needs to be redone. The banquet halls and downstairs may sparkle but the rooms are pure hell.
Location: Thank goodness there are a lot of restaurants and businesses to visit to make this experience salvageable. We were there for the Blurricon event.
The rooms were freezing cold. When I was on the elevator the room, a man from the 6th floor stated that I would freeze to death here and prepare for utter crap. He was from the engineering conference. The rooms were freezing! The only way we stayed warm was to wear our clothes to bed. When we complained, the woman barely looked up when she said it was on air conditioning mode and there was nothing they could do about it. Besides, it was supposed to be warm this weekend. What kind of response is that? I've NEVER been in a hotel you couldn't control the thermostat at least a little. The parking, the ramp gates were broken so we went through and were told to just put a paper in the window that stated we were staying at the hotel. The lighting felt like a horror movie setting as well. When it was time to take a shower, the rust on the shower rod and spray were nasty and we were lucky to have one set of towels. Best part was the little sign trying to guilt you not to have your sheets changed because it takes a lot of water......guess it takes a lot to clean the rooms too because the rugs were stained and nasty as well as the lamps. Not only that, in the DIM lighting we learned that the closet had zero hangers for our clothes and the drawer was stuck so we couldn't even use it. The breakfast buffet.....no. Just no. Between the engineers, homecoming and wedding guests complaining, you'd have thought a refund would have happened. No. DO NOT GO HERE!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

It's a humble room

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The room feels comfortable and simple enough to figure out where everything is.
Cons: The bathtub's drain has a bit of rust surrounding it in my room but since it's unrenovated, you might see those kind of things now and then.
Location: The bar called Sluggers I recommend. Fun environment, great food, and affordable drinks to have a great time.
The room I stayed in is not luxurious but I didn't need it to be. For a non renovated, it's good enough to enter and just fall onto the bed after a long flight. The bathrooms, since it isn't renovated, is a bit old looking. However, pass this, is pretty decent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Quiet lobby
Cons: Noisy guests, unclean free breakfast area
Location: Presque isle close, lots of shopping
Old hotel. Obvious cannot financially manage any longer
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

super kind staff

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Location: close to everything without the high price!
Great location. Accommodating staff. Quiet Room. Good nights rest. what else do you need?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Should be condemned.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
This may be the worst hotel I have ever been in. It was filthy. The furnishings were falling apart. The television was missing. It smelled awful. We checked out within an hour of checking in. Would not recommend to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures do not do justice

Posted Sep 26, 2016
It should be false advertisement that they put such lovely pictures up and you go there and NOTHING looks like it does in the pictures. There are stains on the walls , beds are worn in , pillows aren't comfortable , they don't offer anything for the guest besides breakfast ... Which was pretty much nothing . The breakfast was as dull as the hotel . They didn't have any options besides pancakes and ham . The fruit had salami in it . The bar was boring . Only had a game on , no music , no activity . The only good thing was that there was a bar across the street . I would not recommend staying at this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erie, PA

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: Everything could be improved!
Don't stay at the Avalon. There are plenty of other hotels for around the same price with better conditions. We tried 6 different cards and still couldn't get in our room. We were told the battery was dead. The next day our cards worked. No ice on any of the floors. Our bathroom sink looked like the pipe was backed up and left crud in the sink. Shower head leaked spraying water everywhere. TV was very old and flickered at the top of the screen. We did have air conditioning-people we met in the elevators did NOT have air in their rooms. Free breakfast was 7 am to 10 am. We got downstairs only to be told they were running late and would be ready at 8 am. The entire place looked worn out and its just being run into the ground.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston

Stay somewhere else.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Maintenance, quality, staffing.
Location: Presque Island State Park. I was in town for the Erie Marathon and the park was a very nice place to spend the day.
I would not stay here again if I ever had to go back to Erie. Overall, the hotel is very dated and clearly maintenance hasn't been a priority. Beyond general lack of quality issues, in my room there was hair in the shower, the shower and sink drains were both clogged, there was water damage on the bathroom ceiling, and the wall behind the desk moved when I tried to plug in my laptop. While the window had a sticker saying that it could be opened, there was a nest of spiders on the outside of the window so that was out of the question. I went to every single floor to try to find an ice maker that worked, and none of them did. When I went to the front desk to ask for ice, there wasn't anyone there. Some of the furniture has been updated at some point in comparison to the rest of the hotel, but that's about it, and it doesn't come close to making up for the overall lack of quality and outdatedness. If you stay here, you will be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allen, TX

Overpriced and lacking quality

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The hotel room maid was very nice and accomodating
Cons: Blankets, bedding, towels, linens, heating & airconditining
Location: Presque Isle
The hotel obviously has underspent on virtually everything. Low quality means maintenance and upkeep issues. The bedding, pillows, sheets, linens, etc. were very low quality. Probably had the oldest tube TV that I have experienced in years. Tub drain backed up, shower barely worked, the towels were the cheapest you can buy. On top of that, the hotel staff was going to charge us to check out at 1:00!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elizabethtown, PA


Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Location: Presque Isle
Run down. Dirty. In need of a full makeover. Moved to another room because of spider infestation.