Ratings based on 494 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, ON

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: The staff is very friendly and told us about things that you could do there. They gave us directions for one of our events.
Cons: The bathroom could be improved. They were doing renovations on the third floor.
Location: Good walking distance for some of the restaurants.
It is a nice Hotel and the staff is very good The bathrooms are getting renovated on the third floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by Marion, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for your detailed feedback about your last visit with us. We really appreciate it. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here and I will be sure to share your feedback with the staff. As you already mentioned we are currently remodeling and the bathrooms will be included in this renovation. Thank you again for your honest feedback and we hope to welcome you back after our renovations are completed. Kind regards Marion Customer Service
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to concert venues

Posted Sep 29, 2017
We stayed here to be close to the Erie insurance arena. It is within walking distance to a lot of nightlife also. We stayed at the Avalon during an 85 degree stretch and with so many rooms booked for a concert, the air conditioning could not keep up. The hotel staff did bring us a fan however. For a quick trip and being so close to everything, this hotel was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2017 by Marion, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback on your last visit with us. We really appreciate it. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay. I can assure you that it has been shared with our team so improvements can be made. We would also like to let you know that we are currently renovating to improve our services and facilities. Again we are sorry and we hope to welcome you back once our renovation is completed. Kind regards Marion Customer Service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, Ontario

Extremely convenient to downtown. Nice bar with

Posted Sep 19, 2017
tapas. Restaurant. very generous continental bkfast (free). A tired old building, but presents well, with friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2017 by Marion, Hotel Management
Dear Lorne, thank you for nice review on your last stay with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time and our restaurant. I will be happy to share that with the staff. Please not that we are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities and services. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards Marion Customer Service
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Not the worst hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The physical condition of the building and the rooms, the amenities in the rooms, the attitude of the staff about the fact that the hotel sucks
Location: Erie Sea Wolves play down the street
I'm sure that, 30 years ago, The Avalon was a place, or the place, to stay in Erie if you wanted to be downtown. But in the 21st century the only reason anyone would stay here is because they want to be downtown and the other option is not viable (it has a worse rating and worse reviews online, hence why we stayed here). We wanted to be walking distance from the ballpark, and so we picked this hotel. The price was more than I would have paid had there been basically any other options. It's worse because we're Canadian and our dollar means that what is maybe moderately price for an American becomes extravagant for us. I paid more for a night in this hotel than I have payed for nights in many way nicer places both in 2017 and in previous years. But, again, we wanted to be walking distance from the ballpark. The builing is in a bad state of disrepair: the rooms and the elevators have physical damage on them, in addition to stains that make you think that they might not be clean (they appeared to be as clean as they could be for rooms with carpet that was decades old). Worse, there is a sign from Hilton in the lobby showing you what the hotel will look like in the future, as if to say you should come back when it's better. But they are charging prices they wish to charge for that refurbished hotel now. Though security doesn't worry me, I understand the concerns others have posted here about the hotel: anyone can access the hotel through the parking garage. Nothing worked: the pa
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Marion, Hotel Management
Dear Riley, thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback on your last visit with us. We really appreciate it. First of all we would like to apologize for not giving you the customer service you deserve. This is for sure not our standard and it has already been adressed with our staff. Additionally we would like you to know that we are currently undergoing renovations and remodeling. The sign from Hilton in our Lobby is displayed to show our customers the end product, which will be becoming a Hilton. We can assure you that our parking garage is a save place to park your car as it is under 24 hour video surveillance. Additionally we have frequent security checks in our garage. Again please accept our sincere apologies about those disruptions. Kind regards Marion Customer Service
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, NY

Not quite what I expected

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Location location location!
Cons: Air conditioning and water.
Location: It's the only fairly decent hotel downtown. It's located in the club district on State Street, and it's ideal for the Celebrate Erie event.
We stayed two nights with adjoining rooms and another couple. The air conditioning in both rooms was lacking. We kept it on high the entire stay, and the rooms never got below 76 degrees. Our friend's bathroom didn't have any hot water. They complained, and the hotel said it would be fixed, but it never was repaired during the two-day stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Marion, Hotel Management
Dear Jason, thank you very much for taking the time to give us a feedback about your last stay with us. We really appreciate it. First of all we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay. We can assure you it has been addressed with the proper departments to ensure the AC as well as the hot water will be fixed. We would also like to let you know that we are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities. Again, we thank you for your time and please accept our sincere apologies. Kind regards Marion Customer Service
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Not impressed would not stay there again. Hard beds no furniture even though room is large
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2017 by Marion, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to give us a feedback on your last stay with us. We really appreciate it. Please accept our apologies for not exceeding our basic standards. However, we are currently undergoing renovations to improve our facilities. Thank you again for your feedback. Kind regards Marion Customer Service
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Ancient for the price of an upscale hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Dirty, old, and uncomfortable. The bedding was different colors of yellow from age and the pillows were lumps. The furniture was disgusting, ancient and dirty. I haven't seen a tube tv in quite some time. The bathtub and toilets were dirty and the faucets still had "stuff" smeared on them. There was also something splattered on the wall by the toilet. Needless to say, we slept on top of the sheets without pillows. The AC did not work well and was more of a cool fan, which made the room warm and stuffy. We left after a few hours of sleep.
3 out of 5
by Brian

Overnight in Erie

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
Air conditioning in room was substandard. Continental breakfast was a disappointment. Was given room that was unclean, so had to go back to lobby to get new room assigned. Furniture was tired, but water was hot, mattress was OK, linens clean, but not crisp. Guess I have high standards?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Ok accommodations but terrible service

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: The nightly fee was fairly inexpensive compared to the conference hotel on the waterfront.
Cons: Cleanliness was an issue in the breakfast room. Communication between front desk staff and custodial staff should be better.
Location: Location was good - about a mile's walk to the waterfront. There were many restaurants in the area.
I arrived on a Monday for a 3 night stay. The room was adequate, but the bathroom ceiling had mold and there was no fan in the bathroom. I went to my meeting on Tuesday and returned at the end of the day to find that my room had not been serviced (bed not made, bathroom not cleaned, garbage not removed). I called the Front Desk and reported it. They asked if I needed anything and I said no, I could re-use the towels. They assured me my room would be serviced the next day. Went to my meeting on Wednesday, came back at the end of the day and my room once again had not been serviced. Called the Front Desk and told them this happened for the 2nd day in a row. They apologized and said it would be reported. They said they'd be sure to have the room done the next day at 7:30 a.m. I told them I was checking out. On Thursday, went to check out and reported the lack of service. They didn't know anything about it but said it would be reported. They did not offer any compensation for lack of service. A continental breakfast was available each morning. Food choice was very limited. I sat at the same table each morning and noticed that the crumbs under the table, seen on the first morning, remained there the whole time I was there. The staff at the breakfast place was very nice and friendly.
5 out of 5
by Amy

Roar On The Shore.

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed the free fireworks I could see from my window. I liked walking instead of driving.