Ratings based on 515 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Needs serious updating. Hallway smelled of old cigarettes even though the signs on the rooms said no smoking. The towel rack was partially pulled out of the wall. Room was clean and bed was comfortable- staff was very nice. I'd rate 21/2 stars.
3 out of 5
by 5320 E. Cr 38

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horror Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Shocking that this hotel is rated as it is.... no security system on the external doors, room smelled very bad, reception area is dated and dirty, we checked in and left for a decent accommodation elsewhere
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie PA

Good choice for the money spent

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The pool and hot tub were awesome. The tuban head wrapped cleaning staff trying to chase us out 30 minutes before check out time...not so much!
3 out of 5
by Quinn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Go to this hotel, but be prepare to walk

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Staff communication
Location: See above
This hotel is not senior friendly. Be prepare to walk distance for services. But over all is nicely located to a bank, great breakfasts places, that are walkable. Also, check out the availability of transportation to and from airport as well as the so call "free breakfast", it's not. Expedia was wrong giving out that type of information. Two things I wanted from the hotel; a) transportation and b) Free breakfast. Both I had to pay extra. It appears that Expedia's staff is limited understanding the English language. Complementary cafe is not breakfast. Almost three hours to complete the reservation, and it was still wrong. Hot tub great, pool ok, gym ok. Hotel staff needs to communicate with each other better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carnegie, PA

Posted Oct 3, 2017
We had another exceptional stay at your hotel. The staff was very helpful as always, and we truly enjoyed the breakfast buffet. There is no doubt that when we return to Erie next year, we will be sure to book our stay at the Clarion Hotel Lake Erie.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: The indoor pool & hot tub, the area is very nice and even though it is a traffic area, getting to the main lobby, it is still somewhat private
Cons: The cleanliness of the room & bathroom, just a little extra time put into it. In my room, the window could be opened, yet there was no screen .
Location: Location is great! A few miles from Presque Isle. Close to many fast food places & restaurants. Easy to get to!
The Clarion is at a great location, close to Presque Isle. It was nice using the pool and hot tub, wish I could have accessed it sooner than 9am. It can use a bit of upkeep, some tile missing on side of hot tub /pool side. Had a double bed room, nice size. The morning buffet was good, surprising that it wasn't complimentary as is with the competition. Bar is very nicely updated and the staff is friendly.
2 out of 5
by Kevin

Clarion's falling out of favor.

Posted Sep 23, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I chose Clarion because we thought it had higher standards and quality, Unfortunately, our experience proved other-wise. The layout of the hotel was a bit confusing. Going from our room to the lobby was an adventure. I would suggest improved signage. The room air-conditioner was below par. It did not work properly and failed to cool the room adequately on a hot day---and the drapes were closed. The beds seemed to be some sort of 1960's vintage. We felt like we were sleeping on a child's mattress. The mattress must have been covered in some sort of plastic or something. In any event, the comfort of the bed was horrible. The pool area was great. I don't think we would ever chose the location again. My experience with Clarion's seems to validated that the standards and quality of these hotels has deminiished. The upkeep just isn't there anymore.
5 out of 5
by Diane

Comfortable Sheets

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Hotels
The beds were so comfortable ~ I really liked the sheets. I have to say that it is the first time that I have stayed at a hotel that I felt the carpet was clean. We really enjoyed our stay and the convenience to Presque.