Ratings based on 2,050 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Red Roof Inn, Erie, PA

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: see above
Pros - staff is very friendly - location right off highway was a plus for us Cons - rooms need serious updating - breakfast is included but it was not advertised that it is coupons for McDonald's (huge issue as I have a child with Celiac Disease and she cannot eat at McDonald's) - smoking area outside of our room on 2nd stay; people outside all night, very loud - door to room would not open - terrible smell in room - toilet did not flush correctly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fun vacation

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Loved every minute of my 2 day stay. I did what I wanted relaxed went to the beach watched movies
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable no frills

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Very expensive for no amenities. Staff was very nice and the room was clean. I prefer a cooler room and the AC couldn't be set to keep the room cool enough.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Room had a damp smell. Phone was not operating correctly and had to unplug it to keep it from making noise. Room seemed small and crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, however dated

Posted Jun 29, 2017
It is a nice hotel, it is dated but the staff couid not have been nicer and the room was extremely clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to shopping

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Great clean room great staff. The only thing that would have been better would have been queen size beds. Certainly lots of room to accomodate that. When you have 3 women staying in the same room a little bit more bed space would have been great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2017
I was very happy with my stay here. Room was very clean and comfortable. When I booked, I did not realize it booked me in a second floor room. Since they do not have elevators, and my sister and I both have issues with stairs I asked if a change could be made and the clerk made a no charge upgrade to a first floor room with microwave and fridge so I was completely happy with that. Also, if you do not feel like going out, they actually have a room service option which must contract out to a local Italian Restaurant. Food was excellent! Also free breakfast vouchers for the McDonald's next door. All for $80 for 2 double bed room. Can't beat that for sure. Would definitely recommend this and stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel , always good experience from red roof

Posted May 26, 2017
Staff was good, the room was cleaned every day, bed was comfy, wifi signal was awesome, toiletries replaced daily, couldn't find a complaint if I tried.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Colborne, ON

TERRIBLE BEDS

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Great Staff
Cons: BEDS BEDS BEDS - the MOST IMPORTANT thing!!!!
Location: Peach Street shopping !!
I really think when you have to stay OVER NIGHT somewhere - the thing that means to most (after cleanliness) is COMFORT. My poor husband and I HONESTLY could NOT even walk straight out of our rooms after the second night as our backs were killing us. The beds really need to be REPLACED!!!! If we knew that this has taken place - we would DEFINATELY return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Boater/Fisherman Beware

Posted May 22, 2017
Pros: NA
Cons: Training a consistent staff message about rules and being forth right with the fact that my needs either couldn't be or didn't want to be met.
Location: Avoid this motel if planning to fish Presque Isle Bay.
I travel several times a year with my boat fishing new lakes and areas and this Red Roof Inn provided the worst experience I've ever had in my fishing travels. Before booking and during check in I stressed the requirements I have regarding boat parking and an electric hookup to charge my boat. Each time I was reassured that my requirements would be easily met and was given verbal instructions on where to park in order to reach the ONE outlet that is available outside. I followed the directions but awoke the next morning to find my extension cords were unplugged and laying under my boat. I immediately questioned staff and was told that they did unplug the cords because it was a tripping hazard and laying it across the sidewalk and this will not be allowed. I explained I had permission and followed directions and laying it across the sidewalk was unavoidable. I then said I need to check out immediately if that's the case. Another staff member then spoke up and assured me it wouldn't happen again and that she would inform the manager. With this information, I didn't check out. The next evening I parked closer to my room and ran an extension cord from my room in hopes of not having it unplugged again. That was short lived as I was asked to move my boat because of complaints that I was taking up too many spots next to the rooms. The spots weren't marked any differently than where I was asked to move. I obliged and checked out the next morning to go to a boater friendly motel.