Ratings based on 957 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Old Charm and Gracious Staff

Posted Nov 10, 2017
This is a historical hotel that has seen the milestones in Philippine history. Our stay was so comfortable that we did not like to go. We stayed for 2 nights. Cafe Ilang Ilang breakfast spread was so extensive and delicious. The staff are well trained for customer service and you feel safe in the premises. The lobby is so breathtaking and is always bustling with activity! We will go back here again! We atayed in the 17th floor. One room was overlooking intramurus and the other the bay. Huge rooms and bathrooms. The tv inside the bathroom was an added perk!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Favourite hotel in Manila

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: The lobby and hospitality are amazing. Breakfast is great.
Cons: The rooms are a bit dark (in terms of lighting and decor). I realise this is a stylistic choice and subjective to taste, but I prefer lighter designs.
Location: Go and stroll around intramuros, take a trip to Mall of Asia, dine out around Makati, wander around Rizal park.
Every year we come back to The Manila Hotel because the level of hospitality surpasses any other hotel that we’ve stayed in within Manila. From the moment you walk through the door, you feel that you can immediately let your guard down and relax in the knowledge that you’re in for a relaxing and comfortable stay. The friendly staff promptly check you in, often to the sounds of a live music act playing in the lobby with real instruments. The rooms are fairly spacious, but quite dark, which might not be to everyone's taste. However the bed is supremely comfortable and the full size bath tub is always welcome. Breakfast is a must! The seemingly endless buffet selection caters to everyone's tastes while the relaxing ambiance gently eases you into the morning. In terms of hotel-based activities, there is a generously sized pool and a well stocked bar. The internet connectivity throughout the hotel is the fastest I have experienced in Manila (I clocked up to around 70Mbps at one point, which is plenty enough for streaming video or gaming). Every time we leave, we can’t help but wish we had more time on our stay and are usually already planning our next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Also, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience, rest assured that we will address this matter immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Walls too thin

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Can hear what people get up too in there rooms! Very nice 1912 hotel a little pricey tho but worth it
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Also, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience, rest assured that we will address this matter immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Memorable

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I always looking forward to stay @ Manila Hotel since this has a special place in my heart....back early '60, '70 "Luneta" in our playground since we're the only art gallery/house fronting this hotel. It's memory lane walking in the lobby thru checking in....the receptionist is very helpful & professional..when I made the reservation my request is 2 beds for my Mom & me & since 2 beds is not available which I understand since the hotel is always fully booked, she upgraded me to a suite room @ no extra cost ...w/c is even better....staffs are all friendly & professional, room is great & clean, place is so perfect close to Rizal park, restaurants, etc...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2017
The Manila Hotel takes pride in hanging on to the Filipino traditions. The staff are very accomodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Convention site

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I book this hotel everytime we have a covention. The buffet breakfast has lots of choices and there’s free wifi and TV inside the bathroom. What I’ve repeatedly experienced during breakfast was the staff usher you to a vacant table and by the time you go back to your table after getting your food,someone is already occupying it. So you end up looking for a vacant table yourself. The other problem is you have to park your car outside the hotel for an overnight fee as their free parking is always full. Also, there’s no shopping mall nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Also, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience, rest assured that we will address this matter immediately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historical Hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Nice place to stay. Enjoyed the bar and happy hour. Difficult to get a taxi unless you use Grab a taxi. Everyone was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Also, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience, rest assured that we will address this matter immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Ice, clean, friendly staff.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Nice, clean, friendly statf, excellent buffet. Nice location too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from OKC

Water issue

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Outstanding bell service, breakfast and room service.
Cons: 1314fix the shower hot water and make sure the bathtub shower handle works well.
Location: Close to Rizal park, SM city and Robinson’s shopping mall.
Room 1314, no hot water in the shower so we moved over to the bathtub because there is a shoulder handle. One problem when you activate the shower handle the water trickles out. Makes it extremely hard to shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon. Also, we would like to apologize for your inconvenience, rest assured that we will address this matter immediately.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LOS ANGELES

Excellent Stay!

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Excellent and attentive staff. Will attend to your needs in reasonable time! Live piano and classical music at the lobby is relaxing. Security is always present and makes u feel safe. Buffet breakfast was excellent- food choices from different cuisine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by The Manila Hotel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we hope to see you again very soon.