Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Welcoming stay-just make sure you know some German

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Friendly and welcoming staff, picturesque location, free bus travel from the stop just a short walk from the hotel.
Cons: Definitely a fan in the room, less creaky beds and a mosi plug would help. A brush up in my German wouldn't go amiss either.
Location: Ernst is pretty quiet, but wine tours (if you know German), canoe hire for the Mosel river and bike hire too available nearby - check out Cochem too!
The owners were so welcoming and helpful, despite the obvious language barrier - this is provincial Germany, after all. With the combination of my limited knowledge of German (25 years ago at high school!) and the owners limited English, we did our best to muddle through. They sorted our 'Gastetickets', which entitle you to free use of the buses and apparently discounts too, welcomed us for the set meal Sunday lunch (much appreciated after our adrenaline-fueled trip to the Nurburgring!) and arranged a taxi for us when we wished to visit Cochem (the adjacent, larger town) without waiting for the bus. The room was of a good size, with two 3/4 sized beds put together (so a small gap between the mattresses) and a TV provided too (once we found the extension power cable to plug it in!). The fixtures and fittings were not the most modern, but were clean and maintained, which was fine really and added to the quaint charm of the place. However, the room was uncomfortably warm, with the duvet being suited to a harsh winter climate and with only a heater unit and no fan in the room, we found we had to sleep on top of the covers most nights, with the windows as open as we could, which in turn resulted in several mosquito bites over the course of our stay. The beds themselves seem to creak and groan a great deal too, which makes a restless night in the heat of summer even more of an anxious experience. The tourist office was, annoyingly, closed during our stay too - Go to the Cochem one!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Pleasant hotel a little away from the Cochem crowd

Posted Jul 23, 2016
This hotel, run by Familie Elmar Klotz, is located in Ernst, just a few k east of Cochem. It was quiet and well-cared for. The food and wine were quite good. We just stayed there one night on our way from Frankfurt to Trier, but I'd go back here to spend more time in the Mosel Valley. Be sure to visit the castle on the hill above the river valley.
5 out of 5
by Renato Alvaro from sao paulo

great hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2015 on Hotels
What a great place and food on an astonishing paradise.
5 out of 5
by Mick from Downham Market

Great location, and a fantastic place to stay.

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
A much better place to stay in than Cochem with some great restaurants in the town. Both my wife and daughter are vegetarian and we wee surprised by how well they were catered for. I would highly recommend this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mr.Mrs L.Ball

WONDERFUL VIEWS FROM ALL WINDOWS.

Posted Jun 1, 2012 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay very much.The bedroom and bathroom were a good size and the views of the Moselle were wonderful (even from the bathroom)! It was very clean and the breakfasts were good.We had two evening meals there which were enjoyable and very convenient after a long journey to get to the hotel.The hotelier gave us a free ticket so that we were able to travel into Cochem or other nearby places by bus on any of the days we were there.The second day we missed the bus because it was early so make sure you are at the stop in good time. We would certainly return if we get the chance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trevor from Solihull

Lovely one night stop off on the Mosel. 2 nights next time.

Posted Jul 19, 2010
Good setting overlooking the river and the vineyards. Will definitely stop in the Mosel Valley next time we're passing thro' Germany and spend longer up and down the river. Very good buffet breakfast, and we had a good value evening meal there too. A thoroughly enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by Bo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Carsten

Dejligt familiejet hotel

Posted Jan 13, 2016 on Hotels
Værtspar utrolig gæstfrie. Ualmindelig god service. Lækker tysk morgenmad med alt hvad man kunne ønske, herunder friskpresset juice.
2 out of 5
by Anke from Bad Salzuflen

Ausreichend für 1 Nacht ohne Ansprüche

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Direkt an der Hauptstraße gelegen und nachts Autoverkehr. Keine Möglichkeit das Zimmer zu verdunkeln, da nur Vorhänge. Elektroheizung. Im Bad funktionierte die Heizung nicht, dafür Stand ein kleiner Heizlüfter bereit. In der Beschreibung ist angegegeben: 4,0 km bis Pommern(Mosel). Das war aber die Luftlinie, gefahren mussten ungefähr 15 km zum Ort Pommern.