Ratings based on 278 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Anna

Bad parking in Budapest.

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
We got a ticket for parking nearby and bringing our luggage inside. Parking was 2 miles away.
2 out of 5
by KAM HA

Surely won't come back again!

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is old. And most importantly, I have reserved for a "Basic Double or Twin Room", but the staff assigned a "Single Room" with a little single bed to me as I was just 1 person. It is ridiculous! Never go back again! Would rather choose "Hotel Hungaria City Center" near the Budapest East Station instead. They are for similar price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The staff was great. Location and it was quiet.
Cons: The room was not very clean, housekeeping need to do a better job and maintenance is needed to.
Location: Location was great as it was near the main train station and the metro line.
Room was big enough, buffet in the morning was ok, not bad and not great and it was quiet during the night and day. It was price about right but I would look for another place to stay next time I visit, if nothing is available it would use the place again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
In general a very nice hotel and very good staff. The room was very cold though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor breakfast but great front desk staff

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff and among them a young guy, very energetic, always ready to help with great English. Breakfast was poor with low-quality material. very convenient if you are visiting Mc-Daniel College.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

Budapest starcity hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
The room is no where near what photos are on profile but location is good to catch the hop on hop off big bus just outside train station on main road no problems
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

WORTH THINKING ABOUT AS A BUDGET HOTEL

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
Positioned in a local neighbourhood some distance from the more usual tourist spots but reasonably accessible on foot from Keleti Palyaudvar mainline and Metro stations from which all parts of the city can readily be reached: it is also on a trolley bus route. The staff were most helpful, the continental breakfast was acceptable although the coffee was a little feeble. Rooms were furnished and decorated to a reasonable standard although somewhat tired and in need of a make-over. The en-suite shower rooms were clean but would likewise benefit from a major upgrade. (Mine had no plug for the hand basin – housekeeping reported that this was not unusual, probably why no plug ever arrived). The principal attraction was the price which we could not equal elsewhere in the city. So, it’s good for a few days if you’re travelling on a budget.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth UK

Nice location not flooded with tourists

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff giving helpful advice, always smiling.
Cons: Room tea making facilities
Location: The Hotel was well located for all our visits to the attractions. We were surprised at the amount of events that were held in the City Park.
The Hotel was clean with very helpful staff, our room was larger than we expected but the decor was a little dated. The room was very quiet and we seldom heard the traffic or our neighbours. Good variety of choice for breakfast. The area was not flooded with tourist Hotels. City Park was nearby with many local bands to see and a large market and Beer Festival at the weekend. something for everybody. The Metro station was nearby and gave us easy access to the Town centre.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Panama

close to subway, many restaurants, groceries store

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: bathroom is dirty
Location: great location, close to subway, many restaurants, groceries store.
great location, close to subway, many restaurants, groceries store. the breakfast is good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great budget hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Comfy beds, decent breakfast, decent location (especially for transit)
Cons: Keeping the milk at room temperature makes cereal a write off. Daytime front desk staff is less friendly and helpful than the night staff
Location: Easy access to main transit line. Markets and restaurants are in abundance
We had a great stay at this hotel and the night staff (Atilla) was super friendly and super helpful. Give the man a raise.