Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

This was a last minute stay.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Nice front desk lady
Cons: Update the rooms
Location: Went to a local play and it was nearby. I wouldn't advise the restaurant within the hotel.
The check in was good. The motel is older but clean. The bathroom was tiny and the room was dated. We ate in the hotel bar/restaurant. It was mediocre. The breakfast had little to offer and there was no one there to guide you through it--you were given a coupon for four breakfast choices. We found one. It was an ok place to stay. Nothing great. Nothing bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was fantastic.
Cons: There is no hair conditioner.
This was a very comfortable hotel. Older but still nicel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Quiet location, easy to find, comfortable, nice indoor pool, great hot breakfast.
Cons: Update decor.
Location: The motel was about ten miles away from a casino. We went there and had some fun.
We arrived on a Sunday and were a little disappointed that the attached restaurant was closed. No big deal, I guess. The furnishings and decor in the hallways were a bit dated. Easy fix--get rid of all that wallpaper. There was a fridge and coffee maker in the room, and those are helpful features. The ice machine was easy to find, too, and that is a positive. We did not use the indoor pool, but it looked very inviting. The high point was the hot, made-to-order breakfast. The room was quiet and comfortable. This may be the nicest motel in Escanaba.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Very pleasant stay. In house restaurant and bar; with pool. Close to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thunder Bay,ON

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We booked the suite and it was very large and comfortable. The pool was warm and the kids ended up getting it all to themselves. The breakfast was our favourite part, limited menu, but the food is prepared fresh. The waitress was friendly and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Crystal, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to comment. We appreciate your business and compliments! Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

Clean, convient place to stay.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We were actually surprised at how nice this place was. We stayed there on the way to our destination and then on the way back on the weekend they have a really nice buffet breakfast and on weekdays they actually serve breakfast To order. they also have a really nice full-service restaurant and the staff was really helpful. I would definitely recommend this to my friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Crystal, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Magnuson Grand Pioneer Inn & Suites for your stay in Escanaba. We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with feedback! I am very pleased that you enjoyed our dining facility and breakfast options. Thank you for recommending our property!
5 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by James

not bad

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
stay was all good the bar closed early and the air conditioner was really noisy but over all was good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Great place will come back...we are a Ford family so having the Ford Dealership right next door was cool!
2 out of 5
by Robert

Disappointed

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Room had unpleasant odor and heat did not work on a cold night. Got in late and did not contact front desk, just dealt with it.