Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Manuel

A perfect cap to our vacation

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was short but sweet here. We arrived at 4:30 and left at 5:30am the following day. The customer service was top-notch, the restaurant was great, and the pool / lounge area was perfect for our group. Some local friends who live in Santa Maria came and spent the evening with us, and we had a great time with them. The decor of the hotel is beautiful; we will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, unique hotel with stunning views

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Alta was absolutely stunning--cannot recommend enough staying here! We will definitely be back. Every room has a balcony with a table and chairs, and a gorgeous view of San Jose and the surrounding mountains. La Luz restaurant is great (open air!), and the pool/garden area was also beautiful. We spent $85 on dinner for two including an inexpensive bottle of wine, appetizer, main course, dessert, and tip. Very clean and well-kept throughout the hotel and our room, and the unique architecture was fun to explore. The hotel is about a 40-minute taxi ride from San Jose airport, which cost us $32 in a taxi. The airport shuttle from the hotel costs $40 each way. Highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Love the Hotel. Not sure about the Restaurant

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Amenities. Room.
Cons: More diverse restaurant menu. Bigger portions for price. Way too expensive as it is right now.
Location: It's San Jose. It depends. We preferred beach towns and mountain towns. If you're in San Jose, I'd recommend staying put and enjoying the hotel pool.
We stayed at Alta on our last night in Costa Rica because it made sense for us to stay near the San Jose Airport during the last 24 hours of our visit. We did this last year, and we loved Alta. The Hotel is great. The Front Desk staff are friendly and helpful, particularly Luis, who made sure we were taken care of. Thanks Luis! I can't say the same for La Luz, the restaurant. Last year, the menu selection was better, the service was outstanding, and there was a sense of "pura vida." This time the experience was bad. The server was rude, and while I understood his Spanish, I tried asking him if he could repeat so I could better translate to my SO. He ignored it. He made expensive recommendations we didn't want (we just wanted simple lunch), and everything we ordered he kept saying they were out, which was strange for a lazy Sunday lunch. (BTW, If management reads this, I'll only share his name if requested). He ignored everything I asked, and he clearly decided to just follow his own agenda of what he felt we needed to eat and drink. Finally after I ordered a Chicken dish, it didn't come with anything I asked for on the side, He was just a character, and it was a weird experience. He also stood over me waiting for me to sign the bill. 100 dollars for a simple lunch was a bit ridiculous considering the selection was so limited and the server was so off-putting. He was also their for breakfast, and didn't even give us menus or tell us what was included. Such a guessing game...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Great Hotel. Wonderful staff and the restaurant is 5 star *****
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel, rude restaurant staff

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was stunning. Every inch of it is amazing. I was going to rate it very high until we had dinner at the restaurant. The restaurant was completely empty, only two other people on their way out when we walked in. We were sat at the smallest table away from the windows and amazing views. Here we sit, squished like red headed step children while the entire restaurant is empty. About 20 minutes into our meal another couple came in ( in jeans and t-shirts) and they were seated in the large table in the corner surrounded by windows (there were about three other tables with the same set up) - it ruined the mood of dinner b/c we were uncomfortable and confused by the treatment. By the time we left, the restaurant was still empty with the exception of the other couple so it wasn't like they were getting ready for a huge dinner crowd. We were dressed nicely and staying at the hotel while the other people looked like they had just come off the street for a causal dinner. It wasn't the best way to end our Costa Ricas trip, spending $112 on dinner and getting treated like we were a bother, maybe because we look young ( we are both in our 30's) or because we were Americans? The front desk staff was very nice both at check in and check out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
Gorgeous views from room balconies, interesting architecture, outstanding restaurant in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, but needs a little maintenence

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, architecture/style, ambiance
Cons: Hot water, improving air conditioning, adding a ceiling fan, mattresses
Location: The wildlife refugio that is nearby is cool and the pizza there is pretty good and 50% of the bill goes to support the refugio.
Hotel Alta is a really gorgeous hotel. It's a unique mix of sleek contemporary with charming traditional (think almost a European castle feel). The staff are all friendly and helpful when approached and the views from the rooms are spectacular. The restaurant boasts good food too (even if the menu is a little light on variety). It's almost a 5-star hotel, but a couple of things held it back. Firstly, I found the bed to be a bit stiff/hard. Secondly, the air conditioner in my room barely functioned. If you turned it all the way down and the blower all the way up, it sort of cooled things off. Luckily I wasn't there on really hot days or it would have been stifling considering there was no ceiling fan in the room either to get the air moving. Lastly, and most importantly, I didn't have hot water the 1st time I took a shower. I told the front desk and they supposedly "fixed" it (my wife was able to shower with hot water later). However, the next day, the hot water was out again... this time when you turned on the hot water literally nothing came out of the spigots. They did fix this problem fairly quickly which is a credit to them, but all of these maintenance issues kept the hotel from being truly spectacular.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa,FL

Romantic getaway

Posted Sep 28, 2016
From the moment we arrived, the staff made my husband's birthday even more special. Everything about our stay was perfectly romantic..If you're looking for a couples retreat, this is the perfect place for it..The ambience of the restaurant and delicious food choices is everything you could hope for!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Beautiful Hotel and Wonderful Staff!!

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Can't say enough about this hotel. Beautiful scenic views and world class staff. The moment we stepped in there, the staff was so nice and so accommodating. The convenience of the restaurant and bar made it even more special. They scheduled all of our excursions which made it so easy to go and do day trips. Would highly recommend!!
5 out of 5
by Luiza

Beautiful boutique hotel with nice views!

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice boutique hotel with beautiful decor and views. I would rather see a breakfast buffet instead of a la carte. They had a happy hour included with tapas and wine that was very nice too. There isn't much to walk nearby but a short cab drive can get you to other restaurants. Bed and linens were not very comfortable and a better comforter could be used.