Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Excellent staff and great rooms

Posted Jul 25, 2017
We stayed for one night, as planned. Really enjoyed the staff, very helpful with advice and friendly. Rooms and hotel were very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
I have stayed here several times. Very nice property. Excellent, excellent! staff. Comfortable and quiet. I'll be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington Beach, CA

Nice hotel in the city with a pretty view

Posted Jun 30, 2017
I booked the hotel for the night since I arrived late at night. Charming and unique. The staff was great and the view was very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by María José Duty Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Danielle thank you very much for your visit and your comments hope you can back soon. regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and sophisticated small hotel.

Posted Apr 29, 2017
We enjoyed our one night stay, which was nice in all aspects. Friendly welcome with a good tasting fruit drink. The room was clean and comfortable and the view from the balcony just beautiful. the dinner in the attractive restaurant was jus great. First class meal! We highly recommend this hotel. Kjell & Susan New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in San Jose

Posted Apr 21, 2017
It´s a nice place for a romatinc night, the restaurant is very good, as well as the hotel, the rooms are quiet and confortable. Staff is kind and helpfull.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful sunsets!

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, this was an excellent and beautiful hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Manuel

A perfect cap to our vacation

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay was short but sweet here. We arrived at 4:30 and left at 5:30am the following day. The customer service was top-notch, the restaurant was great, and the pool / lounge area was perfect for our group. Some local friends who live in Santa Maria came and spent the evening with us, and we had a great time with them. The decor of the hotel is beautiful; we will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, unique hotel with stunning views

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Alta was absolutely stunning--cannot recommend enough staying here! We will definitely be back. Every room has a balcony with a table and chairs, and a gorgeous view of San Jose and the surrounding mountains. La Luz restaurant is great (open air!), and the pool/garden area was also beautiful. We spent $85 on dinner for two including an inexpensive bottle of wine, appetizer, main course, dessert, and tip. Very clean and well-kept throughout the hotel and our room, and the unique architecture was fun to explore. The hotel is about a 40-minute taxi ride from San Jose airport, which cost us $32 in a taxi. The airport shuttle from the hotel costs $40 each way. Highly recommend!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Love the Hotel. Not sure about the Restaurant

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Pros: Amenities. Room.
Cons: More diverse restaurant menu. Bigger portions for price. Way too expensive as it is right now.
Location: It's San Jose. It depends. We preferred beach towns and mountain towns. If you're in San Jose, I'd recommend staying put and enjoying the hotel pool.
We stayed at Alta on our last night in Costa Rica because it made sense for us to stay near the San Jose Airport during the last 24 hours of our visit. We did this last year, and we loved Alta. The Hotel is great. The Front Desk staff are friendly and helpful, particularly Luis, who made sure we were taken care of. Thanks Luis! I can't say the same for La Luz, the restaurant. Last year, the menu selection was better, the service was outstanding, and there was a sense of "pura vida." This time the experience was bad. The server was rude, and while I understood his Spanish, I tried asking him if he could repeat so I could better translate to my SO. He ignored it. He made expensive recommendations we didn't want (we just wanted simple lunch), and everything we ordered he kept saying they were out, which was strange for a lazy Sunday lunch. (BTW, If management reads this, I'll only share his name if requested). He ignored everything I asked, and he clearly decided to just follow his own agenda of what he felt we needed to eat and drink. Finally after I ordered a Chicken dish, it didn't come with anything I asked for on the side, He was just a character, and it was a weird experience. He also stood over me waiting for me to sign the bill. 100 dollars for a simple lunch was a bit ridiculous considering the selection was so limited and the server was so off-putting. He was also their for breakfast, and didn't even give us menus or tell us what was included. Such a guessing game...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Great Hotel. Wonderful staff and the restaurant is 5 star *****