Ratings based on 230 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hackensack, NJ

Great location, overall, very good, nothing bad to

Posted Nov 14, 2017
I have been to Costa Rica 7 times before and it has changed a lot. Now Costa Rica is highly congested (traffic), San Jose is less safer and dirtier, also. But in the small towns, it's a bit better. I think i am done with Costa Rica. But my airline, hotel and rental car experience, was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 10, 2017
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place for the Price

Posted Oct 16, 2017
The Real Intercontinental is a luxury hotel. The hotel is older but beautiful. I did notice some areas that were in need of improvement/repair. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating. The majority of the staff was well versed in English and of course Spanish. There are 5 on site restaurants all of which are superb. I highly recommend the breakfast buffet in the Market restaurant in the morning. The hotel will set up tours for you. There is a hotel taxi that is complementary with in limited distance. It is located close to shopping, casinos and local restaurants.. I will stay at this hotel again the next time I am on business. BTW my room had a bathroom that was well appointed with separate shower and a bath large enough to fit two adults in comfortably.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent staff, too noisy

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Hotel is beautiful, clean and great staff.
Cons: Noise.
Location: Costa Rica has many things to do. Visit volcanoes, do the canopy, walk on the hanged bridges, eat deli cuisine.
Overall excellent. The only problem is the noise at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: Its okey, very nice place
excellent Hotel and excellent place, enyoy the time in the hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ont. Canada

wonderful wonderful staff!!!

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Location: Located in the city it has that huge (360) store mall within a five minute walk. If you ask the concierge he will arrange a taxi to a cheap souvenir
We stayed for a week for an international living conference and found our whole experience at the hotel fabulous! The staff were especially outstanding and will go out of their way to make your stay unforgettable! Kudos to them all!!
3 out of 5
by Matthew

Overrated

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms are a little outdated and the overall hotel just felt very overcrowded in the main foyer area. Bathroom had chipped tiles and they were very frugal with toiletries. Despite the excellent location of other reviews it is about 15 minutes from the main downtown area so a taxi will need to be used and will cost about $20. The breakfast area gets very busy and there will be queues. However, the fitness centre is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel in the most high end sector of city

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Great quality hotel near the city of Costa Rica. It's walking distance from Multiplaza mall. Great food and room service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: the bar and the entertainment
Cons: the bathroom
the toilet was not clean, water leak. I made a complaint and the water was fixed but the toilet bowl was the same.