Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom from Costa Rica

Unique

Posted Dec 1, 2012
Pros: Architecture
Cons: no signs to the hotel
Location: spectacular
Absolutely an experience, building, view and glamour
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by LGK

Good Value

Posted Aug 17, 2012 on Hotels
Great place with amazing views. This is most important for me so don't mind the long drive up the mtn.
5 out of 5
by juan

perfect get away for couples

Posted Jul 8, 2012 on Hotels
The place is so relaxing, the hotel is beautiful, and the satf excelent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Frank from London, UK

Bad experience

Posted Mar 17, 2012
Pros: nothing
Cons: staff
Location: far from everything
The hotel has certainly got character, BUT and it is a big but, nobody seems to care about the customers or about anything else... The staff is not supervised and you seem to annoy everybody when you ask something. When we arrived nobody picked our luggage, at reception we were given a voucher for a drink, but after dinner the drinks were on our bill and the waiter refused to change the bill. The following morning I went down for coffee at 6:30, the waitress was there, but no sorry, we open at 7:00. I had to fight to get my coffee. For an establishment which wants to be upmarket, it is really desappointing. Also it is over priced. We will definitely go somewhere else next time...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jennifer from Toronto, ON

Lovely hotel! Service could be a bit better.

Posted Feb 22, 2012
The hotel is gorgeous. It's a little bit tricky to find (a street address on the website would have been nice so we could use our GPS). It has an incredible view, which makes it worth the hunt! I'm taking a point off for a couple of small things: - We booked a room with a King bed... but when we arrived they gave us a standard room with a Queen bed. When we brought this to the attention of the front desk, they tried to tell us that we booked a standard room (even though I had the confirmation email). They acted like they were giving us an upgrade by putting us in the room we booked in the first place. - The food at the restaurant is delicious and the view from the dining room is awesome. The only critique I have is that there were two other tables of diners with grey hair and we watched the waiter scrambling around to serve them while we were basically ignored. All guests should receive the same level of service. Older doesn't always = bigger tip, unless you consistently provide bad service to young people! The room was gorgeous and the view from the balcony was so beautiful. The grounds were also well maintained. We will definitely come back (but we probably won't eat at the restaurant due to the service issues). If you are in your 50's or older, I'm sure service will not be a problem! :)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

San José / Costa Rica

Posted Feb 20, 2012
The Hotel is situated in a very nice area, however both knowledge and service is very far away from a 4 star rated place! Allover we are very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Grand Tara Hotel Costa Rica - very American

Posted Jan 7, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely and the views were amazing, but it was very American. If that's what you want, it's a very nice hotel. We were disappointed that they didn't serve a single traditional Costa Rican or even latin meal at the very expensive restaurant. And the food wasn't great despite the high price tag. This is especially inconvenient as any other restaurants are a taxi ride away. Very nice staff and beautiful building though.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DMV

5 Star Service for 3 Star price

Posted Nov 8, 2011
Location: Visit downtown San jose, tortuga island, san antonia de escazu, etc.
Grand Tara Hotel was so beautiful and the staff was fantastic. They all provided first class service from the time of arrival to the day we left. The chef is world class and needs to be featured. We ate at the restaurant 5 out of the 6 nights we stayed in Costa Rica. The view is breathtaking from the pation from out room as well as the restaurant.