Ratings based on 1,015 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for families or business

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Room layout and pool/spa area. Workers.
Cons: The rear of the building / parking area looked a little run down. Little more outside security.
Location: This hotel is near everything. About 10 freeway miles from ocean, mountains and historical sights.
The hotel is located near freeways and most major attractions in the area. Very quiet and clean. I liked the layout of the room. The bathroom area was separate from the sleeping area. The light switch was in the bathroom not the living room. No one was disturbed when someone went to the bathroom. I had to get up early but my wife could still sleep. Had a very clean and well maintained pool/spa area. Needs bigger and more pool towels. We used our own towels. Don't let the price fool you. We enjoyed it there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Decent hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: convenient parking, next to the beach, friendly staff.
Cons: cleaner bathrooms, colder fridge and upgraded AC.
Location: Sea World, La Jolla, Gas Lamp...
The hotel staff was always friendly and welcoming. Everyone greeted me with a smile and shared in conversation. I noticed the hotel was in a run down area of Escondido so there was a surplus of homeless people everywhere I went. I found the security lacking at the hotel also since there was constantly people coming and going from the parking lot who did not appear to be guests. The hotel room itself was clean and welcoming. The bed sheets were folded nicely, the fridge was clean, and the bathroom was tidy. I noticed the fridge didn't get that cold so I couldn't freeze any ice packs in the upper compartment and I often felt that my food was slightly warmer than I desired. The ac appeared to be an older unit to and in need of an upgrade though it was decent for cooling despite some noise. The bathroom had some stains on the mirror but they were small. The toilet and shower were clean so was able to use the room without any problems. I would stay there again if I was in the area but it wouldn't be my first choice. It has the basics of what you need but it was not exceptional for a hotel. Next time I would prefer to pay a bit more for something nicer but I definitely never felt unsafe and there was very little noise. I would give the hotel a 'B' rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Nice Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2017
We spent one night here after visiting family. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Perfect for what we needed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent staff

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We were given room 125 which was down a dark corridor and it had an awful smell, like smoke! We asked reception and they changed our room to second floor. Lovely light airy room. Clean. Breakfast was good, usual coffee juice waffles toast and cereals! After driving approx 1 hour after checkout we realised my husband had lost his wallet in the room. I rang hotel and they had found it and kept it for us so we drI've back to collect! Fantastic staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Great for non-picky people

Posted Jul 9, 2017
We stayed here for 5 nights with our 4 kids. We rented 2 rooms and were on the top floor. I was nervous about cockroaches and room quality after reading all the negative reviews. Overall our stay was comfortable and clean. The main room looked surprisingly up to date (though no lamps or free pens/notepads....?) and the bathroom was fine. The hallways outside seemed clean though the stairways seemed a bit dirty at times. We did see 2 large dead cockroaches outside in the walk areas...but nothing in either room. It is California so this was not alarming. The kids loved the pool. It seemed to be cut with a salt filter and less chlorine than usual which worked great for me as I normally can't swim due to high amounts of chlorine. The breakfast is boring and no protein or fresh food at all. Bring your own food and use the fridge. Would totally go here again. $aved us money. For a family of 6 this is very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from far away

Awful

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Did not stay
Cons: Their rule of "No visitors allowed" should be on their website. We'd have eliminated this choice from the start.
Location: Many wonderful things to do and see. We stayed elsewhere.
Awful. Room wasn't ready.we had reserved it months ahead. So very frustrating.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from $

I've had better

Posted Jul 1, 2017
They shut the water off without warning, place looks kind of old. Not a hidden gem. Looks like some hotel from the Goonies. Haha. Sometimes you need a place just to get by.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

OK place for the price

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: The desk staff was friendly. They had cereal, toast, and waffles for breakfast. The pool looked nice, but didn't get a chance to use it.
Cons: Finish the renovations.
The first room assigned to me was fairly nice and look recently renovated with a new air conditioner, fridge, and microwave. For some reason, the door was difficult to open and wouldn't close enough to lock. The second room was not renovated and smelled of cigarette smoke and also had a warped door. Finally, the third room was under a shaded area of the building and the door was fine. The elevator was a little scary. It looks like this hotel is undergoing renovations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clarita Valley

Great Stay

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Great place to stay for this visit to the San Diego area.
Cons: nothing comes to mind
Location: We wanted to visit the San Diego Zoo and Safari Park. Didn't venture out from that thought.
Not very exciting looking from outside but the room was very nice and roomy. Very clean and well taken care of with much time taken to be sure everything was ready for us.
4 out of 5
by Daniel

Good Stay

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Hotels
Good stay for the money, will be back