Ratings based on 1,036 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointing

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Beds were comfortable but hotel was not in great condition! We didn't even want to swim in the pool because it did not look clean! No one greeted us when we walked in the front door. Took 10 minutes for somebody to come back to the lobby to help us. Poor service at front desk. We won't be back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego, ca

Just ok

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Looks decent from outside and afar, but not well kept. Room was dirty and bathroom needed updates. Outdoor pool was not heated. All carbs and few choices for breakfast (waffles, raisin bran or frosted flakes, toast, OJ, apple juice, coffee). No fruit, no eggs, no yogurt, only white bread for toast..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Nice motel with cheap price

Posted Nov 13, 2017
First time to thIs motel and it is clean and friendly. Only thing I think it can improve is the breaksfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Rooms smell like Smoke

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: The guest service was nice
Cons: the smell of the rooms. No cigarette smell and no harsh cleaning smell.
Location: Escondido has the wild animal park. However, we stayed here to visit Ramona and go to a Camel Dairy farm!
Checking in was great! the guest service was great! I had asked for a bottom floor and they were able to accommodate me. The first room we checked into wreaked of cigarette smoke. We went back to ask for another room. They were nice and gave us another room. The second room also smelled of smoke but not as bad so I just assumed they must all smell this way so we did not ask for another room. I get stomach aches with cigarette smoke smell and it is not ok to have the non-smoking rooms smell of cigarettes. I noticed that the doors did not have a no smoking sign on them so I think they just rent out the rooms to smokers and non-smokers and just tell the guests that want a non-smoking room that it is a non-smoking room and vice versa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Stayed there several times

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location was great. Very clean rooms and pool area. nice people.
Cons: The parking lots need some attention.
Location: It is near everything. Movie theater is one block away. lots of places to eat and shop. not too far from ocean. one block to freeways.
The hotel is near everything in the area. We stayed there about half a dozen times because of business. It was always a pleasure. The staff are great and the manager will do anything to make your stay a good one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Safari Park

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: You could at least make the areas I want to enjoy with my kids smoke free, like the pool.
We stayed one night after our visit to the safari park. It wasn't terrible but after ten days of vacation in four different hotels I can report this one was the least enjoyable. The breakfast was stale cereal and toast only. The whole place smelled of cigarettes. The remote didn't control the tv. The room smelled of dirty feet. For $90 a night I expected a bit more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good for families or business

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: Room layout and pool/spa area. Workers.
Cons: The rear of the building / parking area looked a little run down. Little more outside security.
Location: This hotel is near everything. About 10 freeway miles from ocean, mountains and historical sights.
The hotel is located near freeways and most major attractions in the area. Very quiet and clean. I liked the layout of the room. The bathroom area was separate from the sleeping area. The light switch was in the bathroom not the living room. No one was disturbed when someone went to the bathroom. I had to get up early but my wife could still sleep. Had a very clean and well maintained pool/spa area. Needs bigger and more pool towels. We used our own towels. Don't let the price fool you. We enjoyed it there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Decent hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: convenient parking, next to the beach, friendly staff.
Cons: cleaner bathrooms, colder fridge and upgraded AC.
Location: Sea World, La Jolla, Gas Lamp...
The hotel staff was always friendly and welcoming. Everyone greeted me with a smile and shared in conversation. I noticed the hotel was in a run down area of Escondido so there was a surplus of homeless people everywhere I went. I found the security lacking at the hotel also since there was constantly people coming and going from the parking lot who did not appear to be guests. The hotel room itself was clean and welcoming. The bed sheets were folded nicely, the fridge was clean, and the bathroom was tidy. I noticed the fridge didn't get that cold so I couldn't freeze any ice packs in the upper compartment and I often felt that my food was slightly warmer than I desired. The ac appeared to be an older unit to and in need of an upgrade though it was decent for cooling despite some noise. The bathroom had some stains on the mirror but they were small. The toilet and shower were clean so was able to use the room without any problems. I would stay there again if I was in the area but it wouldn't be my first choice. It has the basics of what you need but it was not exceptional for a hotel. Next time I would prefer to pay a bit more for something nicer but I definitely never felt unsafe and there was very little noise. I would give the hotel a 'B' rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Nice Stay

Posted Aug 25, 2017
We spent one night here after visiting family. Rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. Perfect for what we needed!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels