Ratings based on 1,378 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Beautiful place!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at this beautiful place--pool, spa, firepits, fun activities. Lovely.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing vacation resort for golfers

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Amazing views, mountains, scenic golf course, very good on site restaurant and bar. Pools, hot water jacuzzis are well maintained. Pool side amenities, gazebos, bon fire, hammocks are of very good standard. Loved this place
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your 5-star review. We are glad to hear you had a really fun time here at Welk Resort San Diego Escondido. We hope to see you again soon!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Checkout is at 10am!!!

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The check out time was a huge turn off. On average hotel check out times are at 12pm. For the amount of money that is charged at this resort they should be able to accommodate this as a standard check out time since every other resort I have stayed does, why doesn't Welk's! . It limits the ability to participate in resort activities prior to check out, especially if you like to sleep in and not feel rushed to leave. And No, I am not interested in paying a late check out fee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall nice, a little dated

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Overall the property is nice. The majority is a little dated but well kept unless you stay at the top of the hill near Mountain Villas. Employees were all friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review and the details you provided on the resort. We are continually upgrading our accommodations. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Has potential

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Seems like a lot of fun activities offered
Cons: sound proof your rooms better
Overall my experience was fine, but nothing to rave about. My room was sort of a walk down basement, which was surprising for a nice resort and a little creepy. Room itself was good, full kitchen etc.., but the walls between my room and the next were paper thin. I could hear every detail of conversations the guests in the next room were having, but they were also EXTREMELY loud with screaming babies/toddlers and a screaming father as well. I did call the front desk to please ask them to keep it down and they were attentive and did go to the room. Unfortunately the neighbors didn't really stop and the same issue occurred the following evening as well. Maybe the newer buildings are built better with better insulation between rooms, but I won't go back if I had to stay in the old buildings again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and upgrading your review on the resort. It sounds like you had a good visit. I apologize for the challenges in reference to noise. Please visit us again and we will do our best to assure you have a quieter stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I loved it! The rooms and amenities are great. It's off the beaten path but within 15-30 min of anywhere you want to go in the San Diego area. The room was beautiful and golf was great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
We are happy to hear you loved your stay with us at Welk Resorts. Please come visit us again if you return to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice time

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Combinations were nice. We had a really comfortable bed
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
We appreciate the feedback you provided on your stay. Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

A Hugh disappointment. Very expensive.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: food was good.
Cons: clerks that take note of adults in rooms without children above them.
Location: Casinos
We were 3 adults checking in. They put a family of 4 - small children above us. We booked for 2 days and no one enters your room for clean towels or to make the bed. This was an expensive trip - they just want to sell time shares. They offer money if you go on their sales tours. We would not get caught into this. Mainly young families with small children in the pool. Recreation facility was not staffed and nothing worked right.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review, disappointed that we did not meet up to your expectations. It is our priority to provide all of our guests with exceptional service and accommodations and we apologize that we fell short of these expectations during your vacation. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort but understand if you choose not to. Thank you again for your feedback as it does not go unnoticed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Sleep on the floor.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Take it off EXPEDIA.com
Location: Near the coast.
For over $1,000,00 (one Thousand) US Dollars, I had to sleep on the floor. The sofa bed was not usable. I was Given the handicapped room--TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT. NO refund. I took the room and slept on the floor because I did not want to spoil my daughter's vacation. No trash pick up. No clean towel. No house keeping service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review which gives us the opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at Welk Resorts. We apologize that your stay was less than perfect, we appreciate your letting us know some of the challenges you experienced during your stay. I apologize that we did not meet your full expectations. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort but understand if you choose not to. Thank you again for your feedback as it does not go unnoticed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Not as expected

Posted Aug 23, 2017
After making reservations, I broke my foot. I immediately contacted Welk to request ADA accessible room. I was told they would make the necessary accommodations available. Upon arrival discovered they were not able to accommodate the disability. There are hundreds of units on property... many ground level accessible, but "nothing available." We would've lost our money if we'd not completed our stay, not to mention the disappointment for our family. I was required to maneuver up & down 8 stairs on my rear to access our condo. Bell hop was not available to help unload bags. Traveling is always a challenge, but this situation was especially challenging. I wasn't given or left much choice. Expedia also tried to intervene but were unsuccessful- once they get your money - Welk or Expedia- you're on your own. This experience was NOT something I've ever had before. Not sure I will use Expedia again or return to Welk either. (We've stayed there MANY TIMES!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review, disappointed that we did not meet up to your expectations regarding our service and villa accommodation. We apologize we were unable to accommodate your villa request. We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort but understand if you choose not to. Thank you again for your feedback.