Ratings based on 1,358 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Sep 26, 2017
I loved it! The rooms and amenities are great. It's off the beaten path but within 15-30 min of anywhere you want to go in the San Diego area. The room was beautiful and golf was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice time

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Combinations were nice. We had a really comfortable bed
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County

A Hugh disappointment. Very expensive.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: food was good.
Cons: clerks that take note of adults in rooms without children above them.
Location: Casinos
We were 3 adults checking in. They put a family of 4 - small children above us. We booked for 2 days and no one enters your room for clean towels or to make the bed. This was an expensive trip - they just want to sell time shares. They offer money if you go on their sales tours. We would not get caught into this. Mainly young families with small children in the pool. Recreation facility was not staffed and nothing worked right.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Sleep on the floor.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Take it off EXPEDIA.com
Location: Near the coast.
For over $1,000,00 (one Thousand) US Dollars, I had to sleep on the floor. The sofa bed was not usable. I was Given the handicapped room--TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT. NO refund. I took the room and slept on the floor because I did not want to spoil my daughter's vacation. No trash pick up. No clean towel. No house keeping service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

Not as expected

Posted Aug 23, 2017
After making reservations, I broke my foot. I immediately contacted Welk to request ADA accessible room. I was told they would make the necessary accommodations available. Upon arrival discovered they were not able to accommodate the disability. There are hundreds of units on property... many ground level accessible, but "nothing available." We would've lost our money if we'd not completed our stay, not to mention the disappointment for our family. I was required to maneuver up & down 8 stairs on my rear to access our condo. Bell hop was not available to help unload bags. Traveling is always a challenge, but this situation was especially challenging. I wasn't given or left much choice. Expedia also tried to intervene but were unsuccessful- once they get your money - Welk or Expedia- you're on your own. This experience was NOT something I've ever had before. Not sure I will use Expedia again or return to Welk either. (We've stayed there MANY TIMES!)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: To include more options with the room rate. Like a free show or movie night
It was a great stay. Rooms are a bit far from the pools but overall it was a great stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxnard California

Great hotel stay specially if you have kids.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
I really liked that it had a full kitchen and water park right across from our room. It was a great experience hope to visit again soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. It is our pleasure to best accommodate you and your guests into a unit that meets all of your expectations. We hope to see you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family trip

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: There is an abundance of activities for all ages - just be prepared to pay for the activities.
Cons: Decor in the room. Our bathroom had peeling wall paper, and cuts in the wall paper.
Location: Location is beautiful. There are grocery stores nearby (not walking distance, just a short drive) for convenience.
Our stay was 3 days and 2 nights. Our room was a little dated (wallpaper peeling in the restroom, tv in bedroom didn't work and someone had to come up to fix it, no skillets in the cabinets just 2 pots. We waited for about 30-40 minutes for someone to deliver a skillet). The grounds are beautiful. We stayed at the water slide and splash area with the 2 pools our entire stay. We wanted to check out the other pools, and use the trolley to get from one pool to another, but waited over 40 minutes at the Trolley stop and never saw the Trolley. I'm not sure if we needed to call in advance to get a reservation, but we decided to just stay at the pool for the kids. The cost of the stay is pretty pricey and considering the issues we had with the room, no Trolley service and also lack of comfort with the bed pillows we could have stayed somewhere less expensive. However, the staff was very friendly and nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to post a review. I apologize for any challenges you experienced during your stay with us. We are continually working to upgrade our accommodations here at Welk. We look forward to your next visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience at Welks Resort

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Great property, atmosphere, activities, and experience. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Hutch F., Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to post a review. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort if your return to the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Check in was very disappointing as they put us in the wrong villa. We had paid and booked for a mountain view deluxe villa 1 bedroom. They tried compensating by giving us a 2 bedroom but it was older and dated and not in the area that we wanted. It took us speaking to the manager to make it right and she did. We ended up getting the proper villa after all but much time was wasted and after a long day of travel not what we expected. We turned down a timeshare tour right away, before arriving and we firmly believe this is why we were downgraded. It's a beautiful resort but would probably never stay again due to the hastle we received.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by Hutch F. , Hotel Management
We appreciate you taking your time to write a review and allowing us to thank you for staying with us again. Please accept our apologies for the challenge you experienced at check in. We have shared your comments with our Resort Management team. We are very sorry to have disappointed you, and would appreciate your considering a return to our resort to enjoy a pleasurable experience.