Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire UK

Great location and lovely comfortable rooms

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Location, warm, friendly team. Nice size rooms that were very comfortable and with nice touches! The staff and food were fantastic!
Cons: There are no lifts which makes it hard to carry suitcases (although Alex helped me). It may not be able to have a lift due to the age of the building
Location: Very central location, perfect for me as I was working at Sandown Park Racecourse the next day!
I liked that there was cotton wool and toothbrush with toothpaste available in the room, (in case you had forgotten them)! Alex was lovely, she waiting for me when I arrived, she gave a very warm friendly welcome, the food was superb! I had salmon with lemon butter and it was one of the best! Breakfast was great too! I run a sales mystery shopping company focussing on the customer experience, The Bear Hotel deserve top marks (not that I was mystery shopping during my stay)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dorset

Excellent all round

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Fantastic location for sandown racecourse. Lovely bar, restaurant and rooms. Great staff who were very helpful. Would definitely recommend and stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Perfect place to stay if visiting Sandown!

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Friday night was a little noisy, but the music did stop at a reasonable hour
Location: Lots of really nice restaurants nearby!
The staff of this hotel were amazingly hospitable, even doing a load of washing for us because there was no Laundromat in Esher. Washed, dried and hung many of my husbands shirts. Booked a taxi for us too and changed it for us when we wanted it earlier. Room was very good and clean and the bed was huge and comfortable. We had a great time here and will be back if we need to visit Esher again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Somerset

Show Day

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service, friendly staff, highly recommended
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb Hotel & Food

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
A great hotel with superb food and drink. Parking is limited but the local car park around the corner is free after 6pm (leave before 9am). Room service is free of charge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok apart from the scruffy manager.

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel once I had been checked in. Apparently it was only the manager that could do this and he couldn't be found for a good 20mins. When he was finally located I have to say compared to the rest of the staff he was increadably scruffy. The room itself was comfortable and even though some other reports say the traffic outside is bad, I didn't have a problem with it and the windows were double glazed so the sound of the traffic wasn't bad. One recommendation I will give though is that if you're planning on eating in the area, pop down the road to the giggleing squid, fantastic food.
4 out of 5
by Laura from Norwich

Lovely stay

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff. Lovely clean room. Lovely location close th chessington world of adventures.