Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming riad

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very good stay at Dar Liouba. Patricia is a lovely host. The old town can be very dirty in some parts and I guess, you just need to get used to it. Dar Liouba is in a small alleyway that after a day or 2 it becomes easy to find. A bit daunting to start with. We were treated to nice home made breakfasts every morning. The lack of storage space in the room meant we had to keep most of our clothes in suitcases for 3 days. We managed though. I would probably return with friends or partner. My child loved going up and down the stairs (4 floors) and luckily there weren't too many guests to be disturbed. I didn't realize rooms at the riad didn't have a TV set. It was certainly a change that in the end, worked out alright.
3 out of 5
by Pilar

Disappointed!

Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
The person that welcome us was not very nice - in fact kind of rude. The bellman was extremely nice! Breakfast not so good... In other words, not the best!
5 out of 5
by Vladimir from London

Great place to stay

Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
It was a pleasure to stay @ Dar Liouba. A special thank for Patricia for organizing an amazing dinner and giving all the advises.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Smelly riad

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Smelly and not as in the photos. It smelt so bad in the medina and in this riad. It is old and not new looking as in the photos. We walked in paid our bill and walked out and checked into a hotel on the beach. Not even a little discount was offered. I do not understand how expedia got these ratings which we relied on when booking. They saved on us not eating and using their utilities. They were sorting laundry at reception when we arrived which is not cool. I would not recommend staying in this riad or the medina. The hotels along the beach are far better and not too expensive. Essaouira is a really laid back town, not too crowded and really cool beach. Really worth a visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great location and very helpful staff

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
A fantastic road in a central location you couldn't want more. Amazing dinner made by the chef if you wish or near to lots of restaurants.we were given some excellent information about restaurants and night life. The owner and staff are only too happy to help and even organised our onward transfer at the last minute. Lovely roof terrace to catch some rays and they even provide hats!!
5 out of 5
by S from Washington, DC, USA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by GH from Washington, DC

Terrific riad

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed in 6 different riad/dars during a 10 day trip to Morocco in December. Dar Liouba was our consensus favorite. First, the medina surrounding the hotel is quiet, residential, but beautiful, with some amazing doors and alleyways. The riad itself has great decor, very attractive interiors. Very clean, very friendly staff that speaks French and English in addition to Arabic. The breakfast was fairly standard for riads -- a variety of Moroccan breads and jams, but the coffee was good and service excellent. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: Charming B&B - Very unique and beautifully decorated
4 out of 5
by PeBo from London

Good value

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels
Good value for money compared to other places we stayed in Morocco. No heating in our room if visiting in winter. The manager suggested restaurants which were excellent.
3 out of 5
by Lisa from San Diego

Posted Oct 30, 2013 on Hotels
The Riad is very nice but the room was damp and had a bad smell to it. In hindsight, we should have complained and asked for another room.