Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice riad in medina

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The roof top terrace and the breakfasts up there were a highlight.
Cons: Perhaps due to the closeness to the ocean, the room seemed a bit damp. But it wasn't a problem.
Location: The glorious beach and the medina are both fantastic places to explore. The fish market is interesting too. All so close!
We had a lovely stay and enjoyed the friendliness of the hosts.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by clemente, Hotel Management
hello dear guest, thank you for this good feedback about us, it means a lot to us! see you maybe some other time in lovely Essaouira!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good location and great welcome by owner

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
The owner was very welcoming and the location of the Riad is very central, close to the main sightseeing spots. The only drawback is that there is no Air Conditioning whereas on the site it mentions that there is.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Right in the Medina, yet very quiet at night. Next to the fishing port, with plenty to see. Rooftop terrace for breakfast in the sun with views of the ocean. Beautiful place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great location in the heart of the medina with shops and restaurants on the doorstep. Hot water and good water pressure
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good day and thank you so much for this positive feed back! we really apreciate your effort to let other guests know how is it here in riad al zahia, we hope you have enjoyed lovely Essaouira a lot and hopefully we will see you some other time!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great location in the heart of the medina with shops and restaurants on the doorstep. Hot water and good water pressure
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you for this so good feed back
4 out of 5
by Barry from Ottawa

Great value and location in the heart of Essaouira.

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Al Zahia was all we expected and more for a reasonable price. Our family room had enough space for parents and two kids, and the lounge downstairs was comfortable. The wifi in the hotel worked well, but Internet service in the city was spotty. Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was very good each morning. (It might be too much to ask a small riad, but I also love it when hotels have early morning coffee and tea service in their lobby.) I would definitely recommend Al Zahia to friends going to Essaouira.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location in the centre with lovely rooftop

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Location. Views
Cons: Breakfast was below par in service and quality of food
Location: Local markets and easy walk to the ramparts. Great restaurants for dinner nearby and the Riad offered a whole host of activities. We only had 2 nights
Great rooftop views from the Sunset Cafe. Great ensuite bathroom and service
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Good place to stay

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed at Riad al Zahia for 3 nights in September 2014. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and breakfast was good. The location of the Riad is excellent in the centre of Essaouira. The only issue we had while staying here was that it was very noisy at times. If you are a light sleeper, it would be good to have ear plugs. Because of the open courtyard you can hear gulls and prayers from the nearby mosque, as well as voices and footsteps of anyone who is in the Riad, particularly early in the morning. This was particularly an issue due to a group of very noisy guests on our first night, who thankfully checked out the following morning. Despite this, I would happily stay here again.
4 out of 5
by Alain Oz from Brettany France

Good Value well located

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels
Pleasant place, well located, the manegeress a bit too speed, breakfast ok on the terrace on 4th floor, our room was large and the price very reasonable.