Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Tiniep from Wezep

Heel mooi verzorgde riad

Posted Apr 24, 2013
Pros: Zeer gezellige familiaire riad in het centrum
Cons: Helaas niets
Location: Essaouira is een oud stadje. Het heeft een goed sfeertje en de verkopers hebben nog een goede mentaliteit. Goed voor een paar nachtjes.
Riad midden in het centrum en met prachtige kamers. Goed verzorg ontbijt vaak op het dakterras en de gastheer en gastvrouw zijn erg aardige mensen van zwitserse afkomst. Er stond zelfs een fruitmandje in onze kamer, klein gebaar maar goed gevoel.
5 out of 5
by Steve from New Forest District, Hampshire, UK


Posted Apr 12, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: spectacular sea views
We chose Giselle and Ernest's beautiful riad, based on the wonderful trip advisor reports - and without doubt they are all true. I don't feel the need to repeat all the previously said superlatives, so in an effort to add to them, we can confirm that Giselle and Ernest (along with Hisham) are wonderful hosts, with a hands on approach, ensuring every guest felt comfortable and welcome. We arrived early evening, on a rainy night, and not really wanting to explore the town, hunting for somewhere to eat, we enquired if it was too late to eat in. It was, but as we only wanted a light meal, Ernest was extremely accomodating and provided at a very reasonable cost, a soup along with a larger portion of the starter that the dinner guests were having, and it was sensational! - we did not go hungry that night! This gave us a taster of what their excellent cook is capable of, so we decided to eat in again later in our stay, choosing what we might like to eat, and leaving it to Ernest and Cook to produce the most delicious 4 course meal. As we were the only guests dining in that night, Giselle and Ernest joined us, and we had a most memorable and lovely evening, learning so much about - well, everything! Ernest's local restaurant recommendations are also spot on and worth trying. All in all, we had a wonderful stay, and can thoroughly recommend. Room Tip We stayed in a good value room in the rear annex, which of course did not have sea views, but was roomy and lovely and quiet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Generous Hospitality

Posted Mar 21, 2013 on Hotels
We had a five days holiday at Perle d*Eau staying in a room with a fantastic view over the Atlantic Ocean. The Owners gave us a warm velcome and took good care of us during our stay. The Riad is located in the Medina, a ten minutes walk from the fishing harbour. Good food, delicate rooms and a fantastic host and hostess made this an unforgettable stay. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Veronica & Nick from London

Simply charming!

Posted Nov 20, 2012
The superlatives have all been used by other reviewers and for good reason. It's hard to know which element of this riad makes it so uniquely special. Is it the amazing attention to detail and quality shown in the impressive reconstruction finished less than one year ago? Perhaps the oasis of tranquility that it offers from the hubbub outside? Could it be the jaw-dropping views of the ocean as it crashes over the rocks below, at once fierce and restful? How about the luxury of the on-site hammam? Whilst all of these are undeniably true, the single best feature of this riad is undoubtedly the warmth and generosity of spirit of the owners, Gisele and Ernest. They immediately made us feel welcome with their easy charm, offered us great dining recommendations, tended to our every need and even offered us the benefit of Ernest's impressive and formidable chess experience for personal tuition (not that it helped much!). For the duration of our stay here, we felt more like welcomed house-guests than paying customers. Thank you and best wishes for the future.
5 out of 5
by Sebastian und Juliane

Posted Oct 14, 2012 on Hotels
Sehr schön gelegenes und mit viel Liebe zum Detail neu aufgebautes Riad. Die sehr freundlichen Besitzer und Gastgeber aus der Schweiz bzw. Frankreich wohnen ebenfalls im Riad und stehen einem für Fragen rund um den Urlaub jeder Zeit zur Verfügung. Besonders zu empfehlen ist der Hammam.
5 out of 5
by Mehdi

Great getaway, Highly recommended.

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels
The Riad is beautiful, clean. The owners, Gisele and Ernest are a great couple, very welcoming. A must go for a nice and authentic Moroccan getaway. Will definitely come back.Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Roy from Eastbourne, East Sussex, UK

Fantastic Riad in Medina

Posted Jul 26, 2012
Pros: Beautifully decorated and furnished
We've stayed in Essaouira before and in a more expensive Riad, but this was much better. The owners Ernest and Giselle were charming, helpful and cheerful and introduced us to many superb local restaurants. The Riad is spectacularly decorated and furnished and the views across the quiet beach and the sea were wonderful. We've visited Essaouira three times now, I cannot dream of staying anywhere else in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent emplacement au coeur de la médina

Posted May 22, 2012 on Hotels
Sans aucun doute la meilleure escale possible à Essaouira. Un emplacement idéal au coeur de la médina, sur les remparts avec une vue à couper le souffle sur l'océan. Un riad décoré avec gout et avec tout le confort possible, une cuisine formidable et des hôtes, Ernest et Gisele, sympathiques et très prévenants. Nous y retournerons, c'est certain.
5 out of 5
by Colin from London

La crème de la crème!

Posted May 21, 2012
Pros: The restored ceilings in the main hotel area. The attention to detail, and the fact that all the rooms had been lovingly and tastefully designed.
Cons: Nothing
Location: On the edge of the Medina. Not far from anywhere really
Ok, the first thing to say about Perle d’Eau is that it is just a fabulous place to stay. It is immaculate, spotlessly clean, and the design and décor are first class. The views along the coasts from the roof terrace are fantastic. The rooms are beautiful, and the interior design touches are very well thought out. Gisele and Ernst were perfect hosts – very helpful and friendly and were keen to ensure our stay was perfect. If you are planning a trip to Essaouira, then if you want luxury and comfort this has got to be the place to stay. Make no mistake, Ernst is aiming to be the best in the area, and if you leave it too long to visit, you won’t be able to make a booking – they’ll all be taken. Before I go off the scale(!), breakfast were good and filling and we also ate in the Riad one night and that too was an excellent meal, with a very interesting starter and even more interesting dessert, and in the middle a great lamb Tagine. The Perle d'eau just off one of the main streets in the Medina, meaning its quite central to everything. Although thewalk up to the hotel down a very narrow road might be a little daunting for single female travellers. If you could give a place 7 stars , this place would easily take them!