Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Good hotel close to public transport.

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: The staff are courteous & helpful. Our room is clean.
Cons: Nothing that we could think of.
Location: The location is central to all public transport & main shopping centre. If you are into football, it's also close to Veltins Area.
We enjoyed staying to InterCity hotel as it is close to all public transport, (main train, suburbian Underground train & buses). It is also a walking distance to the main shopping centre. All the staff are polite & they try to go out of their way to help us. Breakfast are wholesome. We will come back to this hotel next time & we highly recommend this hotel to our friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the train station.

Posted Nov 19, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from B

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 12, 2013
Very well located to train station, staff were very helpful and friendly, overall very pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ade from london

nice staff, good free public transport offer

Posted Jul 30, 2013
Pros: the reception staff were very good. the offer to travel free on public transport for the duration of stay was fantastic. hotel is clean.
Cons: I would offer free complementary water to guest every day. I would offer free internet for at least 2hrs/day. I will offer cheaper breakfast.
Location: great. lots to do with free travel.
the reception staff were very good. the offer to travel free on public transport for the duration of stay was fantastic. hotel is clean. Breakfast is expensive 12 euros/person! No free internet is disappointing. No free drinking water even on arrival. No air-conditioning making very hot when window is closed and very noisy when window is opened (traffic).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dan_afc from London, UK

Ideal for football at Schalke Veltins Arena

Posted Nov 9, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: No breakfast included
Location: Central, right by the main station
Good central location, clean and modern. Cheap. Travelodge style hotel, friendly atmosphere. Was exactly what we had hoped it would be.
1 out of 5
by JN from Japan

staff's lack of responsibility, hospitality

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Location: just near the Gelsenkirchen Hauptbahnhof(central station)
I asked the hotel to keep envelopes delivered from a ticket dealer until my arrival. However, they could not do even an easy thing like this! After all I couldn't receive the tickets during stay and couldn't see Bundesliga football games. I will never stay again at any of their hotels throughout Germany!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find another hotel

Posted Jan 26, 2012
Cons: Staff
The staff were very unfriendly. Unwilling to help with issue with my room phone. They were rude during all interactions. Perhaps they do not like American travelers. The room was not very clean and the bed was dreadful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Kent

Convenient location

Posted Jul 3, 2009
Hotel located right in the centre of Gelsenkirchen 200 yards from the Hauptbahnhof so all tram connections to the Ruhr on your doorstep but in a nice area. Also in the middle of the shopping centre although shops not much to shout about!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

hotel is good enough if you have to stay in Gelsenkirchen

Posted Dec 2, 2008
Dusseldorf near by is far better place as is every other place near by. If you need to be in gelsenkirchen then this hotel is well situated but I would not go to gelsenkirchen unless I really had too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Köln

Lautes Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Hotel liegt direkt an Hauptstraße, daher mitunter sehr laut. Für einen Kurztrip zu empfehlen, ansonsten eher nicht. Freundlichkeit und Service verbesserungsfähig. Zimmer teilweise schmutzig, gerade noch im akzeptablen Bereich.