Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

nice hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: staff helpful, room and hotel nice and clean. quiet room.
Cons: nothing too obvious.
Location: really not much. the main train station is about 15 mins walk
nice and clean hotel. was slightly hard to find at night at first but in the day the hotels name is in big letters at the top of the big building so you cant miss it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Nice hotel close to transport for Veltins

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Good location, lovely parkland and friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Big commercial hotel - fit for purpose

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Well managed, clean, good value, professionally run.
Cons: A bit more trust would be nice - had to use your key card to get from the bar to the lift.
Location: Wouldn't go back to Gelsenkirchen for all the tea in China.
In town for the football. This hotel was fine, I imagine it's full of commercial travellers (or whatever sales reps are called now) selling widgets and circuit breakers to local industrialists during the week. A nice enough spot - and if fact the only place in town to get a pint after midnight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was good

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Reception helpful hotel nice
Cons: Expedia paid by master card hotel took full payment before I arrived card not used in hotel so key card should not have my Master card details on
Location: Very little around hotel football arena 3 miles away not much to do nothing like Dusseldorf
Only concern was the Hotel key cards as some have your credit card details on and are only cleared when they are issued to new hotel guests therefore security
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gateshead, UK

Best give this one a miss

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Breakfast very expensive at €18 no coffee or tea making in rooms, no iron in room pint of beer €8
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dagenham

Only one night

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: There for football, not sight see.
The only possible fault I could mention was the lack of air conditioning. Other than that, this is a fine, well managed hotel with efficient, good humoured and mannered staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good business hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Staff great, very helpful, facilities nice, room comfortable. I especially liked the fact that it opened out to a balcony and you could catch some fresh air. But the mattresses need changing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ute from Isle of Wight England

Nice hotel close to city centre and lovely park

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Liked to go for a swim in the pool, also new coffee and tea making facilities in the room. Great staff in the Bar and in the Pub.
Location: Close to City Centre, tram and bus.
Had a great time, lovely staff very friendly and helpfully. Did not have the breakfast as this is quite expensive, however there are many places in town (walking distance) who provide great breakfast.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Total DUMP

Posted May 20, 2011
The hotel is very old and is in major need of a renovation. The hotel is extremely loud. There is a building under construction right next to the hotel so all you hear are jackhammers and drilling all day. In addition, there was drilling all morning in the hotel because of a broken elevator. The business center is comprised of a broken computer so son't expect to be able to print anything or scan it. The front desk staff are not helpful. You need to buy a T-mobile account to get wireless internet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Good central location

Posted Oct 19, 2007
I stayed in this hotel and was generally satisfied with my room and the catering services I made use of. However I was disappointed to find that the reception staff were completely unaware that there was a lareg sporting event taking place at the nearby Veltins Arena. This made it difficult to ascertain the best route / type of transport available to travel between the hotel and the stadium - I found out by talking to some other guests, who were also travelling to the event. The hotel has their own buses and I believe they missed an opportunity here to provide their customers with a bit more than just a bed for the night!