Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice and reliable quality stay in Oberhausen

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Clean, reasonably priced and reliable quality.
Cons: Parking in the lot for the hotel is always a problem - but there is ample parking on the street or a couple doors down at the bowling alley.
Location: It's in an industrial area...but there is an Obi (or one of those chains) with a Backerei attached. Like to go there for breakfast.
The hotel is up to the standard I expect for a Mercure. The staff are always friendly and helpful, even though I typically arrive late. I use this hotel as a jumping point from Germany (after traveling around the country) to drive in less than 2 hours to Schipol (Amsterdam) for a return flight...
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2016 by Daniel Kripp, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We are glad to read that you had a great stay with us. Thank you very much. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards Your team at the Mercure Hotel Oberhausen Daniel Kripp Ass. General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Convenient Business Traveler Hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Conveniently located. Room was quite spacious. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Cons: I found the shower with no door odd and a little inconvenient. Perhaps it was a wheel chair accessible room...
Location: The hotel is easy to get to (driving A3 to Netherlands). There are a few stores (Bauhaus and a grocery store), but it is mostly industrial.
Nice hotel great for short haul or business travel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

No Wifi in room for an alleged business hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Great breakfast selection.
Cons: To be a real business hotel, the rooms need LAN lines for internet. Turn the 'decorative' section in front of the hotel into more parking spaces.
Location: Strange location for a hotel in a mixed light industrial / retail area. Looks like the most popular local past times are smoking and more smoking.
Mercure hotels are generally fine when on business trips. However, I cannot recommend the Mercure Oberhausen am Centro. Check-in and hotel staff were fine. Room a bit small, with pretty disappointing TV cable selection (only English language channel was BBC news). Breakfast was a bit expensive, but a fine assortment of food. Biggest complaints involved the "free wifi". Well, it had better be free since the only way to get a weak wireless signal in the hotel room was to literally lay your laptop at the foot of the doorway - otherwise, no signal. Similarly, had to put phone right near window to get any reception. With the amount of metal used in the hotel construction, every room is basically a Faraday cage. I tried the Ethernet ports, but neither seemed to be live. Had a room directly across from a busy road and rail line. The sound-dampening windows were pretty good, but you could still hear every train coming through at all hours. No air conditioning (not so uncommon in Europe), so when I opened my room windows to get a bit or air, I got the loud street noise and within 5 minutes, the cigarette smoke from the hotel staff impromptu break area wafted in. Worst part of the experience was having 2 windows of my rental car smashed and having some equipment stolen my first night there. You see, the hotel has more rooms than parking spaces, and so I was forced to park off-street (under a streetlamp, with only a sidewalk between the car and the hotel's parking lot).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location and value for money

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Very helpful polite staff, hotel is clean and looks well maintained. Only downside for me is that the free wifi provided was not accessible for me because my room was quite far away from reception so I could not connect, everything else was fine, definitely reccomended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Shame about the beds!

Posted Dec 19, 2012
A nice, generally clean, modern hotel. Only one draw back - My 'kingsize' bed was just two singles pushed together. Strangely, my daughters room had two single beds that looked exactly the same!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from American in Germany

Nice Hotel near CentrO

Posted Aug 22, 2011
The hotel (& staff--who spoke English--big ++!!!) was very nice and helpful. Close (5 minutes) from CentrO mall, which is why we were in the area. Only downfall--on the pictures of the hotel, I was expecting a room with the beautiful bathtub! I had packed my special scents and everything! When I inquired, I was told that the tubs were in the newly renovated rooms, of which they did not have any available. Now the room we had was very nice..just wanted the tub instead of shower! But I would stay again--I"ll just request a "newly renovated room w/bathtub!"
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Colchester, UK

Family of four - visiting the local attractions.

Posted Aug 28, 2009
I stayed at this at the end of August 09, when the German school holidays were over, but the British schools were still out. This Hotel is used foremost for Business travellers, as the 16 euro price tag for breakfast is very steep for a family of four. However, there is a bakery, McDonalds and Burger King all within 400m so there was enough to get by on. The hotel was great for my family needs - 10 minute walk or 2 mins in the car to the Centro - a very large retails/ shopping centre and theme park. 20 minute drive from Bottrop indoor Ski slope and 25 mins from the Movie Park Germany, which by the way is very worth a visit. The Hotel was clean, well presented, with freindly staff - who all spoke English. The room was comfortable, but not that big. However, ideal for the Business traveller. I would stay here again, and would suggest that if you are a family looking to do things at the hotel then this is not the place. This is a hotel catering for the short stoppers.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Nähe Centro

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Schönes Hotel-Service schlecht. FRÜHSTÜCK wurde trotz Absprache nicht auf das Zimmer gebracht. Es wurde einfach vergessen. Das darf nicht sein ....
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by Daniel K, Hotel Management
Sehr geehrter Gast, herzlichen Dank für Ihren Besuch und Ihr Feedback. Für das Zimmerfrühstück ist es sehr wichtig das Sie, wie bereits gesagt, auch die Bestellkarte an die Tür hängen. Alternativ können Sie die Bestellung natürlich auch an der Rezeption abgeben. Mit freundlichen Grüßen
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Schönes Hotel in falscher Lage

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Wasser lief ab 21 Uhr durch gehend. Mann musste Haupthaus ab drehen! Für Toilette immer wieder auf und zu drehen! An der Rezeption Bescheid gesagt und keine Entschuldigung und den vollen Preis musste ich auch bezahlen. Finde ich nicht gut
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2017 by Daniel Kripp, Hotel Management
Danke für Ihre Bewertung. Ihren Kommentar können wir leider nicht zuordnen. Keiner meiner Mitarbeiter kann sich an einen derartigen Vorfall erinnern. Da wir weder Probleme mit dem Wasser noch mit der Toilette hatten.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Wir waren eine Übernachtung da. Gutes Tagungshotel.